Everything, Everything | MOVIE REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am so excited to do this movie review because I absolutely loved this movie. It was so good. I could literally just keep going to the movies to watch this over and over. I loved this so much. I did end up seeing it twice because I love it so much. It was a super faithful book to movie adaptation, and it just made my heart happy. It was heartwarming and hilarious as well as amazingly well acted and well written, and I just loved it so much. Okay, enough with the gushing. Let’s just jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

“Maddy (Amandla Stenberg) is a smart, curious and imaginative 18-year-old who is unable to leave the protection of the hermetically-sealed environment within her house because of an illness. Olly (Nick Robinson) is the boy next door who won’t let that stop them from being together. Gazing through windows and talking only through texts, Maddy and Olly form a deep bond that leads them to risk everything to be together, even if it means losing everything.”

My Thoughts:

This movie is probably one of my favorite adaptations of all time. It was really faithful to the book while also maintaining its own merit of creativity, and I just absolutely loved it. I think the actors did a fantastic job of portraying the characters in the movie, an created a really beautiful love story that stayed really true to the book. I loved so many different things about the movie, and I just am super satisfied with this adaptation.

One thing that my friend Megan and I were wondering prior to seeing the movie the first time was how they would portray the visual elements that were in the book into the movie. And not only that, but all the texting and emailing and all of that; like, how would that translate onto the big screen? And I actually loved how they portrayed all of that. I won’t spoil how they did it, but it was a really cool idea what the director did with it. I think it was a really great idea, and I loved how it came across.

One thing that I absolutely loved about the movie was the phenomenal acting. I think every single actor in that movie did a fantastic job! I was a little bit nervous about Amandla Stenberg portraying Maddy just because the only thing I ever saw her in was The Hunger Games where she portrayed Rue and that was years ago that I saw that. But from what I had seen of the trailers, she looked like she was going to do a really great job, and I am happy to say that she actually did really great! This has me super at ease about her portraying Ruby in The Darkest Minds (most people are mad because she is black and portraying Ruby, but that is nowhere near the reason I was nervous; I just wasn’t 100% confident in her ability to portray Ruby, and now I am), but that’s another discussion for another post.

But I also was kind of nervous about Nick Robinson portraying Olly in the movie because I had only seen The 5th Wave, and that didn’t really give me much of an impression on his acting ability, but he did a phenomenal job in this movie, and it definitely made me see him in a different light. Now I am super excited to see him in other projects, like Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda which is coming out next year. He just really delivered in his role, and I just loved him as Olly.

The rest of the cast was also phenomenal, and I just loved the entire cast. But something that they slightly changed, which I loved, was that they made Rosa (who is Carla’s daughter) a more prominent character in the movie. We only saw her once or twice in the book, and it was nice to see her more in the movie. I loved what they did with her character, and I think it really added another element to the story.

And oh my God; the humor in this movie was so on point. I found myself laughing to the point of tears throughout the majority of the movie, and I just found it so funny. There were so many funny lines, scenes, just so much humor, and I really appreciated it. It brought another element to the story, made it more lighthearted, and ultimately just added to my enjoyment of the film.

But overall, I really enjoyed this movie and adaptation, and I would give it an A on my scale. I absolutely loved it. This is definitely a movie I can see myself just watching over and over because it is that good, and the faithful adaptation just really warmed my heart and gave me all of the feels. I highly recommend you all check out Everything, Everything!

And there you have it! That was my movie review of Everything, Everything. Have you seen this movie or do you plan to? If you have seen it, what did you think of it? Comment down below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

Leave a Reply

