Books I Want to Read This Summer

Hey, guys! Today I thought it would be fun to talk about the five books I want to get to most this summer. The majority of the books on this list are contemporaries because that’s what I usually feel like reading in the summer, but there are a couple of fantasy books thrown in as well. I am really excited to read now that I am done with my first year of University, so I am hoping that I will have more time to read. But let’s just go ahead and get into the books I want to read this summer!

The first book I am hoping to get to is Simon vs. The Homosapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli.

51vf3a1rfzl-_sx330_bo1204203200_

This is a standalone contemporary novel that follows Simon Spiers who is currently in the closet about being gay. When an email gets into the wrong hands, he is at risk of being outed. Being blackmailed by the class clown Martin into being his wingman, if he doesn’t comply, his sexual identity will be revealed, and the privacy of Blue, the pen name for the boy Simon has been emailing, will be compromised as well. This sounds so good, and it has literally been on my TBR for forever, so I am very excited to get to this one this summer!

The next book I want to try to read is The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas.

32075671

This is a debut contemporary novel that follows Starr Carter, a black teen girl who lives in a pretty poor, predominantly black neighborhood but goes to school at a private, predominantly white, prep school who witnesses her black, unarmed best friend be murdered by a cop, and she is the only one who knows what happened, so what she does or doesn’t say could not only deeply affect her community, it could really endanger her life. Everyone has been raving about this book. It seems like such a fantastic book about a super serious topic, and I just think it is going to be amazing. I am so excited to hopefully read this one this summer!

The next book I would love to get to is Tales From Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and friends.

28954137

This is a bind up of a series of novellas, and I have to finish this. Like I am really pissed at myself for not having read all of these yet. The reason I want to finish all of these is because I want to read Lord of Shadows so badly, and it just sits on my bookshelf, taunting me because I can’t freaking read it yet. I need to read this first. But I can’t tell you anything about the plot of this series because even saying the main character’s name is a spoiler. But this series occurs after the events of City of Heavenly Fire (hence the spoilers) and before the events of Lady Midnight. I just need to get off my lazy butt and read these already, dammit! Its going to happen. I am vowing that it will happen this summer. Hopefully…

The next book I want to read is The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

27904311

This is the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, and I can’t believe I haven’t read this yet. I think I am finally going to be in the mood to tackle this baby. I’ve had this since it was released last October, and I still haven’t read it. There really is no reason for it. I know that I am going to love it. I started it and got about fifty pages into it (laughing my ass off the entire time because its freaking hilarious) before I put it down. I think I just got distracted with University coursework. But anyway, this series follows Magnus Chase (obviously) who is an einherji, which is a warrior of Valhalla, tasked with helping to prevent Ragnarok (which is like Doom’s Day). This is based on Norse Mythology, and it is filled with sass, lots of humor, and a kickass story line. I love this series, and I am really hoping I can finally get to this one this summer!

And the last book I want to try to read this summer is Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves.

9781101935996This is the first book in a fantasy series that I have just been taking forever to read. It is definitely not that I don’t like the book. I actually really like this book. I just am having trouble actually getting the motivation to read it. But this book follows Anna Arden who lives in a magical society where magic equates your status, and she is born of a family with magic, yet she doesn’t seem to possess any herself. However, she does have this ability to unravel or break spells, and this catches the eye of a few too many people, so her mother sends her away to live with her grandmother in Hungary where she may find herself in the throes of war and rebellion. This book is actually pretty good; I just need the motivation to read it. Hopefully I can finish this off this summer because I am already a little over halfway through it. Fingers crossed I finish it!

And there you have it! Those were all the books that I want to read this summer. What book are you most looking forward to reading this summer? Comment down below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

One thought on “Books I Want to Read This Summer

Leave a Reply

