More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! Today I am very excited to come at you with a review of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. This is a book that has been on my TBR for what seems like forever, and I finally picked it up and read it, and I absolutely loved it. This book wrecked me, put me back together, and caused me a lot of emotional trauma, and I just fell in love with this book. It is by far my favorite LGBTQ+ book I’ve read thus far, and I guarantee you this will be on my favorites list for this year! But enough with the gushing and fangirling. Let’s get into the review!

Synopsis:

“In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?”

My Thoughts:

Wow, this book surprised me with how much I ended up loving it. For me, this tops History Is All You Left Me in terms of enjoyment because these are both phenomenal books, but this one takes the cake for me. I didn’t have many expectations going into this. A lot of people really enjoyed it, but I really wasn’t expecting a whole lot. This book blew my expectations out of the water, and I just got really attached to all of these characters, and I became emotionally invested in the story, and I just really enjoyed it.

Immediately, I did not particularly care about Aaron. I wasn’t as emotionally invested in his character until we started learning some more stuff about his past. From his asshole father and everything that happened to Aaron and his family. After some truths are brought forward, I started becoming much more emotionally invested, and I really felt for his character. We learned all these difficult truths about him and just all the shit that he has been dealt is so cruel, and it is just obvious that at some point he was going to break and he did, a couple different times. Even in the end, he didn’t get the ending that he really deserved, but I guess that’s how life works…

I have a lot of mixed feelings about Genevieve. She is another character that I never really cared for in the beginning, and that kind of continued throughout the whole book. I just did not connect to her character for some reason. Something with her just did not click with me. I do think she did something that was wrong just like there was something wrong that was done to her. I think both parties learned their lesson, even if it did take a shit ton of time. But I did not cry for Genevieve, and I do not appreciate her getting involved with someone in the story. If anything, they definitely should have waited a little bit. I think it was rushed and that really hurt Aaron. I just was not okay with it. But I digress…

Thomas is a character whom I immediately liked and continued to like for the entire book. Is he gay? Its sort of a mystery at this point. Its pretty murky. Could he be gay in the future? Possibly, yes. I honestly think he could be bisexual. Anyway, he is just one of those characters that is just instantly likable to me. He is just a really nice guy. He is hot, but isn’t arrogant. He genuinely cares about Aaron just like he cares about those around him. He has had some shit in his life, so his life isn’t perfect and he just seemed really real, and I just loved that about his character.

Just as an aside, I really loved his whole family, even if I had a weird vibe about Eric. He still genuinely cared for his brother. I loved his mom because she did accept Aaron for who he was, even if she made a pretty bad decision. I hated pretty much all of Aaron’s friends, especially Brendan. The douche gave me weird vibes. Asshole vibes…And I actually did like Collin, even if I thought he made a lot of bad decisions. He still was an all right guy in the end.

But I absolutely loved the story line, and I loved getting the point of view of a character who is just realizing or coming to terms with the fact that he is gay. He finally acknowledges it, and that is a really powerful moment in the story. And then shit hits the fan from there. But I did really enjoy the plot of the book, even if I thought it was more of a character-driven story. And there was this thing that happened, and it kind of wrecked me. I did not see it coming. I didn’t. I should have seen the signs, but I didn’t, so good job, Adam. You fucked with my mind. Like I put the book down and was like, “ARE YOU SHITTING ME RIGHT NOW.” Totally screwed with my head and made me question the meaning of life. Kudos to you, man.

But overall, I really enjoyed this book, and I am super excited to read more from Adam in the future. I think this is a really important book that everyone should read. I am just so glad I finally got off my high horse and read this baby because it was fantastic!

5stars

And there you have it! That was my review of More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera. What is your current favorite book featuring a lot of diversity? Comment down below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

One thought on “More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

