Allie’s Overly Ambitious May TBR

Hey, guys! I know I am a little bit late, but there are a few books I want to try to get to in May. Literally the only thing left of University is finals week for me. I have two finals this and then I am home free! Which reminds me I probably should start packing at some point…But because of this, I am definitely going to have more time for reading, and I am just really excited to finally have time to read. This really explains why I have more books on this TBR than I anticipated, and there is probably more than I can read, considering its finals week for me. But without further ado, let’s get into the books I plan on reading in the month of May!

The first book I am going to be reading is Blood Rose Rebellion by Rosalyn Eves

9781101935996

This is the first book in a new fantasy trilogy, and this was sent to me for review by Penguin Random House, so thank you so much for sending this my way! This is a story involving this girl named Anna Arden who lives in a magical society where magic equates your status, and she is born of a family with magic, yet she doesn’t seem to possess any herself. However, she does have this ability to unravel or break spells, and this catches the eye of a few too many people, so her mother sends her away to live with her grandmother in Hungary where she may find herself in the throes of war and rebellion. I have already started this, and I am loving it. I am about a third of the way through, and I just think it is super interesting. I have very strong feelings about each one of the characters, which will definitely make for interesting review. Overall, I am just really excited to see where the story takes me next!

The next book I want to try to read is A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas.

23766634

None of you all should be surprised. I have been dying to get my hands on this book, and its finally here. I have it. I got it the day of release, and I am so freaking excited to read this! If you aren’t aware, this is the third and final book in Sarah’s fantabulous A Court of Thorns and Roses series. It is my favorite series that she has written because it incorporates two of my favorite things: fantasy and retellings. If you are not aware of what this series is about, the first book, A Court of Thorns and Roses is a Beauty & The Beast retelling, the second book, A Court of Mist and Fury, is a retelling of Hades and Persephone, and I actually don’t know what retelling this one is, but either way I am super pumped to see how this series wraps up. I know this will wreck me and I will have all the feels, but I think it is going to be an epic and heart wrenching conclusion.

The next book I want to try to read is Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

18584855

Yeah, you read that right. I am actually going to give the book another shot. I have heard so many great things about the audiobook, and I listened to a few minutes of it and really liked it, so I used my one Audible credit for the month to get this audiobook. I have heard that audiobooking this is the way to go because the narrator is fantastic, so hopefully I will finally finish this. That’s kind of the reason this wasn’t on my list of books I DNF’d. But if you aren’t aware, this is a retelling (of sorts) of Alice’s Adventures In Wonderland by Lewis Carroll, one of my all time favorite books. This is really the origin story of the Queen of Hearts, so I think it will be interesting. I am really hoping I can finish this. Fingers crossed, guys…

The next book I want to try to read The Two Towers by J. R. R. Tolkien.

727800

This is the second installment in the Lord of the Rings trilogy, and if you don’t know what this is, where the hell have you been for the last 60+ odd years? This is a high fantasy series that I have been slowly making my way through via audiobook, and I have been absolutely loving it. The audiobooks are definitely the way to go because they are so interactive. It cuts out all the “he said, she did this, etc” and you just hear the cast doing it. There are sound effects and a whole cast of voice actors, and these audiobooks are just so good. But I am very excited to continue on with this series!

And the last book I want to try to read is Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Robin Wasserman, and Maureen Johnson.

28954137

Yeah, I want to read this entire thing by the end of the month. The second book in The Dark Artifices series, Lord of Shadows, comes out at the end of the month, and I already preordered it, so I will be reading it very soon. I need to have read this before I start that book. That whole series ties into this series, and I don’t want to miss anything, so I have to read this first before I read that one. I can’t tell you anything about this book, not even the main character’s name because it spoils the end of City of Heavenly Fire, the final book in The Mortal Instruments series. Just know this series takes place after the events of City of Heavenly Fire, but before the events of Lady Midnight, the first book in The Dark Artifices series. I have heard nothing but fantastic things about this series, so I am just really excited to finally read this whole thing!

And there you have it! Those are all of the books I want to try to get to in the month of May! What is your most anticipated release of this month? Comment down below! I would love to know! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

Leave a Reply

