March + April Reading Wrap Up!

Hey, guys! So two months have passed, and I am finally able to post a wrap up. I ended up reading only one book in March, but in April, I did manage to read five books, which I am pretty satisfied with. I sort of burned out on reading after I read like fourteen books in February. It was insane, and that prompted a mini reading slump. But I think I am getting back into things, and I am so excited to be able to read once finals are done and over with. I have one week left until I am done. But let’s just go ahead and get into the books I read over the course of March and April!

The only book I read in March was The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia.

27414434

This is a standalone contemporary novel that follows a girl named Frankie who is being forced to move to the Downs, which is the really bad part of town when she lived in the Heights previously because she got a DUI (she moved in with her dad who is an undercover cop). She is dealing with the fact that she witnessed her best friend/boyfriend get beat to death right in front of her, and she can’t remember who did it. So she shuts everyone out, deciding to believe that absolutely nothing matters anymore. She ends up learning about the Street Racing scene and catches the eye of one of the best street racers in the Downs, Marco Leone. I ended up really loving this story. I read it in like a day or two, so I completely devoured it. This book actually gave me a book hangover for the rest of the month because all I wanted to do was read this book. But I ended up giving this 5/5 stars, and my review is also up.

The first book I read in April was Confess by Colleen Hoover.

22609310

This is a standalone contemporary novel that follows that follows Auburn Reed, a girl who has everything mapped out, but that all changes when she walks into an Art Studio, looking for a job, and meets Owen Gentry, an artist who works there. She puts her heart into control and starts a relationship with Owen, but he is keeping major secrets, and these threaten to destroy everything important to Auburn, so she decides the only way to preserve those things, is to cut Owen out of her life. He doesn’t want to lose her, but the only way to save their relationship would be to confess, but the confession might be infinitely worse than the actual sin. I really enjoyed this novel, though I still prefer Ugly Love to Confess. I ended up giving this 4.5/5 stars, and my review has also been posted.

The next book I read was The Miserable Mill by Lemony Snicket.

65119

This is the fourth book in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series, and I really enjoyed this one. This is a series that surrounds the three Baudelaire children (Klaus, Sunny and Violet) who are experiencing the deaths of their parents and have been shipped off to a few “relatives” houses, the first of which was Count Olaf, a horrible man who wants their family fortune and is willing to do anything to get it. This was a solid installment to the series, but ultimately it was not one of my favorites. It was quite slow in the beginning but picked up quite a bit at the end. With that said, I did really enjoy the mystery aspect to it, and I thought it was an interesting addition to the story. I gave this 4/5 stars, and my review is also up.

The next book I read was What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler.

20922826

This is a standalone contemporary novel that is focused on the topic of rape. It is based off of the Steubenville High School rape case, which occurred in Steubenville, Ohio, which is less than two hours away from me, actually. It is kind of crazy, but this book was such an important novel. I honestly think you need to go into this practically blind like I did. Just know there is a trigger warning for rape, but if you can handle this story, I highly recommend it. It was so good. I think I read it in like a few hours. I gave this book 5/5 stars, and I also have a review posted.

The next book I read was Splintered Souls by Raye Wagner.

34745596

This is a standalone fantasy novella that was released on April 18, and it is set in the universe of the Runes series by Ednah Walters. I was sent this book by the author for review, and I ended up really enjoying it. This is centered on Norse Mythology and romance and general badassery, and I just really loved it. I wasn’t sure how I would like this. I was very apprehensive going into this, but it took me by surprise. While I wish this would have been a little bit longer, I still really enjoyed it. Its yet another book by Raye that I have fallen in love with. I ended up giving this 4.5/5 stars, and my review is also up!

And the last book I read in the month of May is Son of War by Raye Wagner.

34745603

This is a companion novella to the amazing Sphinx series, and this was released on April 27. I was also sent this one by the author for review, and this one I was pumped for from the beginning. This novella focuses on my favorite character from the Sphinx series, Xan. In this novella, we get to know his backstory, and it just fills in a lot of blanks about his past and why he is the way he is prior to meeting Hope (the Sphinx). I thought this was a great story, and I really appreciated the backstory we received with this novella. I ended up giving this 4.5/5 stars, and my review has also been posted.

And there you have it! That was my reading wrap up for March and April. What is your favorite book that you read in April? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

One thought on “March + April Reading Wrap Up!

Leave a Reply

