Son of War by Raye Wagner | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! Today I am very excited to come at you with a review of the companion novella to the Sphinx series, which just released on April 27, and that is Son of War by Raye Wagner. Raye did send me a copy of this book in exchange for a fair and honest review, but as always, all thoughts, opinions, and feels are my own. But this is very short, so I flew through this, and I enjoyed it even more than I expected to. This had been on my radar for a while since I am such a big fan of the Sphinx series, and I am so happy I got the chance to read this. But let’s go ahead and jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

“Demigods were meant to be the heroes of Olympus. . .

Xan was trained by his father Ares to be ruthless and lethal. As a kynigόs, he spends his time hunting monsters that prey on naïve mortals and foolish demigods. When the arrogant sons of Apollo tag along on a routine assignment, an easy kill turns deadly.

Forced to recuperate at a conservatory, Xan is surrounded by the abuse and selfishness of the resident demigods. All he wants is to escape.

Xan may be the son of the god of war, but his fighting skills are no match for the destiny the Fates have woven for him.”

My Thoughts:

While this was fairly short (only 75 pages), I ended up really enjoying this. I never even thought about it, but there were a few missing stories, if you will, from the Sphinx series in regards to my favorite character in the series, Xan. We never really knew why he was the way he was prior to meeting Hope. We never really received insight into his background before Hope entered his life, and while this novella does not answer every single question I have about him, it does shed light on a lot of things that I have been wondering about ever since we met Xan in Demigods and Monsters.

One thing I really enjoyed about this novella was the insight into the characters we see in the Sphinx series, particularly in Demigods and Monsters. If you remember, Obelia was a character whom I despised in that book. God, I could have choked her. But seeing her as young and still completely enamored with Athan, she actually was a character I didn’t hate. She was young, naive, and still learning the ropes of being a demigod. We really get to see her before the stain of how Athan played her really taints who she is, and I ended up really enjoying that insight into her character.

Nothing has changed with the sons of Apollo. I still fucking hate them. They are still assholes. They are still idiots. And what they did to try to sabotage Xan’s standing as a hunter, that just pissed me off. But I really can’t complain because that indirectly resulted in Hope and Xan crossing paths with Hope, and as many of you know, I am a hardcore Xan shipper. So like I still hate them for what they did and just them in general, but their actions resulted in one of my all time favorite OTPs. So I can’t complain.

I just need to talk about Dahlia. I loved her in the Sphinx series, and I love her in this companion novella. She cared about Xan so much, but she also really cared about the conservatory and the demigods that really needed good training, and that really came across well in the story. She was also sassy, and just really three dimensions and dynamic, and I ended up really enjoying her character.

The backstory with Xan really helped me to understand how he got to where he is, I think. We got to see what Athan was talking about as well as the other demigods who knew that his whole purpose was to hunt monsters, and he ended up falling in love with one. They never believed it, couldn’t believe it, and that just really shows how knowing Hope has changed him for the better. She has changed his perspective on monsters, and this just really helped solidify that because we actually saw what he was like pre-Hope. He just had no interest in helping other demigods. His entire reason for existing was hunting and killing monsters, and because of certain circumstances, we saw him grow as a character by the end of the novel, which was really satisfying to see.

Overall, this was a rocking fantastic novella, and I really enjoyed it. I loved all of the insight into Xan and the other characters we got, and I am so glad we got to learn more things about him and his past. It was just a lot of fun to see what he was like before he met Hope. I loved the story line, the characters, and the writing. I just really, thoroughly enjoyed this!

4-and-a-half-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Son of War by Raye Wagner. What’s your favorite mythology? (Greek, Roman, etc.) Comment down below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

One thought on “Son of War by Raye Wagner | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

