Popular Books I DNF’d

Hey, guys! Today I thought we could discuss the books I did not finish, particularly the more popular ones. Most of the time, it isn’t because I didn’t enjoy the book. More often than not, I DNF a book when I am in a reading slump or I just get distracted by shiny, new books, and I just put it down, and I forget to pick it back up. I am not saying it is out of the question for me to finish these novels. I am sure I will pick these up again sometime in the future, but let’s just go ahead and get into the five books I did not finish!

The first book is one I may receive backlash for, and that is Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.

18006496

This is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, and I know that I will enjoy this book if I get pretty deep into it, but when I started it, I was trying to get out of a reading slump, and no matter how hard I tried, I could not get through this. I don’t even think I made it a hundred pages into this before I ended up giving up. I have tried on multiple occasions to get through this, even to start it, but I simply can’t do it. The size of this novel is also a contributing factor because it intimidates the hell out of me. I even bought the following book, Empire of Storms, because I thought that might convince me to actually read this massive book, but that did not happen. I know this is a well loved book, but I am just not at a time in my life where I think I can read this. I am going to read it sometime in the future, hopefully. I am not completely giving up on it, but I just don’t think I can sit down and read this cover to cover, which is what I need to do if I am going to read it. I just think I need to get through the first two hundred pages, honestly. But right now, I am DNFing it.

The second book I did not finish, and please do not shoot me for saying this, is This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

23299512

This is the first book in the Monsters of Verity duology, and I have been trying to make my way through this thing since this past Christmas, but I just cannot read it for some reason. I know its a book that I will love because I have loved everything that’s happened from the part that I have read, which is like the first seventy or eighty pages of it. However, I just can’t get into it, and I don’t know what’s wrong with me because I know I am going to love it. I don’t know if its the fact that its high fantasy or the hype or what. But I cannot seem to get through this. So I am DNFing this for now, but I am hoping that over the summer I can get back into this and finish it. Because that is something that I will do. I am committing to this. I will finish this one of these days.

The third book I have DNF’d is Magnus Chase and the Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

27904311

This is the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, and this is another book that I know I will love, and I realize it will probably be on my all time favorites list for this year, but I have tried a couple of times to read this, and I have only managed to read the first fifty or sixty pages of this. I got this when it released last October, and I can positively tell you I will love this because I have been laughing to the point of tears just from the first fifty pages of it! The humor is on point, but I just think this is going to be a summer read for me because it is very lighthearted and humorous, so I actually might try to read this over the summer or possibly during Finals Week because Lord knows I need to relieve stress, and something that makes me laugh might help with that. But right now I just don’t think I can read this. I am just not in the right place or mindset to read it.

And the last book on the list of Popular Books I Have DNF’d (and please hold back on the judgment) is none other than Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

22299763

Please let me explain why I DNF’d this. I understand that this book is absolutely amazing, and that everyone loves it. I am sure I will love this because I love this series. Six of Crows is one of my all time favorite books. With that said, I am just not in the right mood right now to devour this book. Not to mention it is so not the right time to just devour a book. I have finals in literally like two weeks. I do not have time to just sit down and read. I have tried to read this. I think I tried to read it on Christmas break, but it just was not happening. I think I got around fifty pages in. Also, I was kind of in a reading slump when I tried to read this, so it just was not happening. I think this is a book that I am going to absolutely love when I can just sit down and not stress out about the assignments I am not completing whilst I am reading. I want to sit down and just enjoy reading it, so this is another book I am DNFing, at least until this summer.

And there you have it! Those were the top four popular books I did not finish. Again, all of these books are ones I definitely plan on attempting to read again, most likely over the summer, so this is a list of books I am DNFing for right now. What are some popular books you have DNF’d? Comment down below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

 

Leave a Reply

