Confess by Colleen Hoover | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! Today we will be discussing a book I am so excited I finally finished, and that is Confess by Colleen Hoover, a contemporary novel that is actually being turned into a TV show. I will have details towards the end of the review. But I really enjoyed this novel, even if I had a couple of problems with it. I still think Ugly Love is my favorite Colleen Hoover novel, but I am still really happy I decided to pick this one up. I’ve seen the first two episodes of the TV show, and it is looking fabulous. But let’s go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

“Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…”

My Thoughts:

Wow, this book was fantastic!! I definitely had a few issues with the book, but I think it was really good, and makes me excited to read more books by Colleen Hoover. This book follows a really flawed, but great cast of characters, and the plot line is very complex, very heartbreaking, but very interesting. I think the story line was my favorite part of this book just because it was so complex and so well written. I just really wanted to see how the story would wrap up because a whole lot of shit went down in this book.

Let’s talk about the characters. While I didn’t personally relate to Auburn, I really enjoyed learning about her character and her complex background with everything that happened. Psychologically, she was influenced by events in this story, by characters in this story, and she ended up being a very vulnerable character, and a character that needed to grow their backbone over the coarse of the story, and Auburn did that. She really grew into herself and learned to stay her ground, which was really beautiful to watch. Also, Auburn and Owen are the cutest.

Speaking of Owen, I really enjoyed reading about his character. There were events in here that made sense towards the end of the book, thank God, which just made me love him so much more. Owen is a good guy, no matter what shit is being said about him, and I freaking loved how much he loved Auburn, how protective of her he was, and just how much he cared about her. Also, the connection between him and Auburn was absolutely unreal. This was the first time I really loved the character that turned out to be a good guy. I don’t usually go for those types of characters, but Owen is just adorable, and I loved him so much.

Now let’s talk about characters I hate. Let’s start with the one I hate the most. Trey. That fucking bastard…I hate him so much. Like I wish he would just die in hell. He made my skin crawl from the minute he became a part of the story. He creeped me out, made me uneasy. I didn’t trust him at all, for good reason. And I just want to carve him up and chop him into little pieces. I hate him. Like I haven’t hated a character like this in a long time, with this much feeling and passion. There are no redeemable qualities about him because he uses people close to Auburn to get to her, to manipulate her, and I just hate him so much. He’s a lot like his mother, which brings us to Lydia.

Lydia is a terrible person. She is selfish, and she blames Auburn for her son’s death, I think. Mostly because Adam wanted to be with Auburn the most in the weeks leading up to his death. Which is completely unfair, and she forced Auburn to do something terrible, that is still affecting Auburn. She is still constantly putting Auburn down, making her feel like she isn’t good enough for anything. This woman has issues and just like her son, she uses people close to Auburn to get to her comply with what she wants. She manipulates Auburn, and I just do not like her, at all. Its a wonder Adam came from such a despicable person because he was just a light on this world, and she is just Satan’s spawn.

I can’t really talk about the story line at all because spoilers, but no that it was absolutely captivating and dark and complex and I loved it. Like the love story is messy, but beautiful, in my opinion.

But overall, I think this was a really great novel, even if I did have an issue or two with it. I think it was really well written, I loved the characters, and the story line, and the beautiful and messy love story. And now I am just really excited to see this adapted into a TV show on go90. All the episodes are going live on Tuesday (and the first two episodes are live right now!), so I definitely will be marathoning that series. Its going to be great!!

4-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Confess by Colleen Hoover. What book to movie/TV adaptation are you most excited to see, as many are in development? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

2 thoughts on “Confess by Colleen Hoover | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

