Five Popular Books I Had Issues With

Hey, guys! So this is a post I am somewhat reluctant to make because these are all books that a lot of you really liked, but I just didn’t like them, and I will explain why, but my goal is not to offend any of you. These are just my opinions. If you like these, I am happy that you did. If you didn’t, great. We can discuss them together. Just because I didn’t like these, doesn’t mean its wrong for you to enjoy them. You are entitled to your own opinion. But let’s go ahead and get into the discussion!

One: This first one I am talking about is actually an entire series, and its one that you may or may not have heard about: The Immortals series by Alyson Noel.

3975774

This is a series that is loved by so much of the book community, but I had a lot of problems with it. Now the first book wasn’t that bad. The first book tricks you into thinking its going to be a good series when it just isn’t. What also reels people in (it reeled me in) was the breathtakingly beautiful writing style of Alyson Noel. She has one of the best writing styles I have ever read about, but with that being said, what really turned me away from the series was a couple of things. One of those was the similarity to a few other series I have read. But the main thing that turned me off from the series was this annoying thing that happens at the end of Blue Moon, the second book in the series. Because that annoying thing just drags on and on for the next million books. And to me, it just is not worth it. This series wasted a lot of my time because I read five of those six books, which I continue to regret to this day.

Two: The second book that I was not a fan of was The Maze Runner by James Dashner.

the_maze_runner_cover

This is a series that I don’t really hate, but I still would never choose to read it because I think its a little bit of a waste of time. One thing I had major problems with was James’ writing style. I couldn’t stand it. It was a chore to try to read through that writing style. But also, I just didn’t like the characters, at all, especially Thomas. Thomas annoyed the hell out of me in that book. Also, I just didn’t like the weird ass language used in the book (shank, crank, etc), and I really did not like how Thomas came up with everything. He saw what was coming. The other characters just seemed like side characters because they didn’t come up with any of the plans. With that said, I do actually really love the movies. I definitely think the movies are better than the books…

Three: The third book I had problems with was Allegiant by Veronica Roth.

allegiant-by-veronica-roth

This is the third and final book in the Divergent trilogy, and it was by far the worst in the series. I had a lot of problems with it, and I actually am not in the minority with this one. A lot of people didn’t like this one. One big issue I had was how Veronica just suddenly changed the perspective of the book and made it dual perspective when the rest of the series was only Tris’s perspective. I think that really hurt the book because you couldn’t differentiate between the POVs. You never could tell whose head you were in. I always had to go back a few pages and see whose head I was really in. I also just did not like the direction the story went and what Veronica did to the characters. I really liked Four, but she turned him into an angsty, annoying character, and I grew to not like him throughout the series. There were a lot of other problems I had with this book, too, but those are a couple of the main ones. I just choose to believe that this isn’t a trilogy, but a standalone because the rest of the series definitely falls short next to Divergent.

Four: The fourth book I just did not like was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

15507958

This is a book that I’ve talked about a few times, and I am one of the only people in the world who apparently did not like this book. I really wanted to like this. I really did, but I just didn’t. I had problems with the love story, for starters. I felt no chemistry between the two of them. No romantic, chemistry anyway. I could see them as friends, but never as more than that. I also really hated the concept presented in this novel because I am against it, personally, which is Assisted Suicide. I was not a fan of that, and I just felt that the story line was a bit too predictable for my tastes. I could see the end coming from a million miles away. I also just didn’t really connect with any of the characters, and I just really was not a fan of this novel. With that said, I did really enjoy the movie adaptation. I think it fixed a lot of the problems I had with it. But yeah, I just was not a fan of this novel.

Five: And the last book on this list of popular books I did not enjoy is actually another series, and that is the The Caster Chronicles series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl.

beautifulcreaturesgarciastohl

This is a series that I think had a lot of potential. I think it had the potential to be a really great series, but what it came down to was it was severely underdeveloped. The magic wasn’t very developed as well as the characters and the world. I thought they could have been better. This could have been improved in the editing process, and it wasn’t. I also think the love story was underdeveloped, and that is something that could have been fixed. Also, if you have seen these books, they are literally so unnecessarily long, which ended up making the story drag a lot. The story could be adequately told in half the length that the books are. Normally I do not mind big books, but it was just so unnecessary with this series. I also was not a fan of the writing style. I think Kami on her own is fantastic, and I am sure Margaret on her own is great, but the two of them together just made the books that much harder to read. I just didn’t like the writing style at all. I think almost all of the problems I had with this series could have been fixed in the editing process, but they were not, and that ended up really hindering my enjoyment of the series.

And there you have it! Those were five of the more popular books/series that I had issues with. What is a popular book you didn’t like? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

4 thoughts on “Five Popular Books I Had Issues With

  1. You’re not alone with not liking Me Before You, I really didn’t enjoy it either. I’m pretty sure I gave it 3 stars as the writing itself was well done and I did like that it was a tad diverse as it deals with a wheelchair bound character and the book could be a tad eye opening to someone who has no experience with people in wheelchairs and what they go through. I didn’t mind some of the characters but I also really didn’t agree with alot of their choices! And I have a similar view to you when it comes to Assisted Suicide. So this book for me was just not great for me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

