The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia | REVIEW

Hey, guys! I am really excited to discuss The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia. I had so much fun reading this book. While there is a lot of bad shit that goes down in this, I was living for every moment with Marco and Frankie. They are literally the cutest things ever. I love them. I really enjoyed this contemporary, and this is the type of contemporary I just want to read over and over. There was action, love, danger, and a sexy love interest. I live for these kinds of books. But let’s just jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

I’ve become an expert at avoiding things that could hurt me—which means I will figure out how to stay away from Marco Leone.

Seventeen-year-old Frankie Devereux would do anything to forget the past. Haunted by the memory of her boyfriend’s death, she lives her life by one dangerous rule: Nothing matters. At least, that’s what Frankie tells herself after a reckless mistake forces her to leave her privileged life in the Heights to move in with her dad—an undercover cop. She transfers to a public high school in the Downs, where fistfights don’t faze anyone and illegal street racing is more popular than football.

Marco Leone is the fastest street racer in the Downs. Tough, sexy, and hypnotic, he makes it impossible for Frankie to ignore him—and how he makes her feel. But the risks Marco takes for his family could have devastating consequences for them both. When Frankie discovers his secret, she has to make a choice. Will she let the pain of the past determine her future? Or will she risk what little she has left to follow her heart?”

My Thoughts:

THIS BOOK WAS ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC. LOVED IT SO MUCH.

This book was a book that I had heard buzz about, but wasn’t sure if I would like it or not. I bought it on a whim, and I am so glad I did. Because this was fucking fantastic. Like I almost have no words for this novel. It was that good. The characters were amazing and complex and badass, and I loved them so much! I loved the plot the writing, and just everything about this novel. It was amazing!

I really enjoyed Frankie’s character. We really get to know her in this novel, and I just loved learning about her backstory. Kami Garcia took what seems like a very cliched character (white, rich girl from the good side of town) and turned her into a really complex and likable character. I loved learning about her relationship with Noah, the complicated relationship with her and her family, and about her friendships with Lex and Abel and Cruz, and I just really enjoyed her character.

But oh my God Marco. Marco is my everything. He’s totally hot and he is badass, but he is also very complex and he really cares for everyone around him. He does all the wrong things for all the right reasons, and it just makes him seem human, genuine. He loved his sister so much, and he trusted Frankie so much. Just learning about his backstory made me love him even more. He really does love Frankie and that really shows in the novel.

And I freaking loved Cruz. She was a total badass and she was a really great friend to Frankie. She was probably one of my all time favorite characters in this book. I also really liked Lex, though not as much. I loved how much she cared about Frankie and Abel and I just really liked learning about her family and the whole situation with Abel. Abel was a bit of a complicated character for me. I did like him, but I think he made a lot of mistakes. At least he’s trying to get better and that’s all that matters. I also love how much he loves Lex because cuties. I also really loved Sofia because she was absolutely amazing, she was cute, beautiful, and I just loved how she wasn’t trying to hide her scars. She presented them proudly. I just admire the shit out of that.

Let’s talk about the characters I hated. Deacon because he’s a fucking asshole. I hated him at the beginning of the novel, and I hated him at the end of the novel. I hated Marco’s father without even meeting him because of what he forced his son to take part in after his death. I hated Frankie’s father by default because he thinks that there are no gray areas. You’re either a criminal or you’re innocent. Frankie’s a gray area, but she tried to force him to change the way he looked at things because according to his beliefs, she’s a criminal because she broke the law. He just really frustrated me for believing that all criminals are lowlife thugs and that not all criminals are bad. I jsut wanted to throttle him for pretty much the entirety of the book.

I also really loved the plot. I loved how we were trying to figure out what happened the night of Noah’s murder. I loved how we got to see all of these subplots, like what was going on with Abel, what was really going on with Marco, and just all of the complexities of this intricate plot. I definitely think the characters were the strongest point for this novel, but I also believe that the plot was complex and really well-written and developed, and I really enjoyed it.

Overall, this book was fantabulous. I freaking loved the badass, complex and well-written and developed characters, the kickass plot and the gorgeous writing. This is just a book that was really, really good, and I am so glad I read it. I am definitely looking forward to Kami Garcia’s next novel because if its anything like this one, I know I will fall in love with it. Loved this!!

5stars

And there you have it! That was my review of The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia. What is your favorite new release of this year so far? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!
sig

 

2 thoughts on “The Lovely Reckless by Kami Garcia | REVIEW

  1. Great review! I’ve had this book on my TBR since I’ve enjoyed some of Kami’s other books but also wasn’t sure about this one. Sounds like it has a cast of stellar characters & that’s one of the things I look for in my books. I may just read this one in the summer as a light read 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

