The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am very excited to discuss with you the first book in the Lord of the Rings trilogy by J. R. R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring. This is a book I have been meaning to read for what seems like forever, and I really enjoyed it. I still think that I enjoyed The Hobbit more than I did The Fellowship, and I did audiobook the both of them (both were absolutely fabulous. If you want to read the books, I highly recommend you audiobook them!) But let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them, One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them

In ancient times the Rings of Power were crafted by the Elven-smiths, and Sauron, the Dark Lord, forged the One Ring, filling it with his own power so that he could rule all others. But the One Ring was taken from him, and though he sought it throughout Middle-earth, it remained lost to him. After many ages it fell into the hands of Bilbo Baggins, as told in The Hobbit. In a sleepy village in the Shire, young Frodo Baggins finds himself faced with an immense task, as his elderly cousin Bilbo entrusts the Ring to his care. Frodo must leave his home and make a perilous journey across Middle-earth to the Cracks of Doom, there to destroy the Ring and foil the Dark Lord in his evil purpose.”

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this audiobook. While I would say I enjoyed The Hobbit audiobook more, this was still pretty fantastic. I loved all of the sound effects, the various voice actors, and the music played throughout the audiobook. I felt the voice actors fit the characters very well, and protrayed them very well. I loved learning about the story line for the ring and the journey these characters go on. I don’t think there was really one character that I marked as a favorite because I enjoyed all of them, and I am glad I decided to pick this audiobook up.

I loved the writing, the acting, and just everything about this book. I loved the popular line that had no context to me prior to reading this, which I have seen everywhere. I am sure you know what it is. “Not all those who wander are lost.” I just love it so much, and this book has just really given me the urge to purchase Lord of the Rings merchandise…

But overall, I really enjoyed this. I loved the characters, the world, the story line, and the stunning writing. I definitely am going to continue on with the series, and I am so glad I decided to pick this one up. Looking forward to the next book!

4-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien. What is your favorite high fantasy series? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

One thought on “The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

  1. I always wonder if the people who post the “Not all who wander are lost” quote (typically females in my experience) know that the quote actually refers to the prophecy of the true king of Gondor. I haven’t personally tried audiobooks because I am afraid they would put me to sleep but this post makes me lean toward trying them. Nice review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

