The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am very excited to discuss this amazing and wonderful contemporary novel, The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. I absolutely flew through this book, and I read it in one sitting. It was absolutely fabulous. I loved the different way it was told, the story line that was not cliche, the diversity, and just everything. This was another fantastic book by Nicola Yoon, and I couldn’t be more happy with it. This is also an own voices novel, which made it even better. But let’s just go ahead and jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?”

My Thoughts:

Oh my God. This book was bloody fantastic!

This book made me feel all the feels, and I cried while reading it, which is strange because this book just made me so happy for almost the entirety of it, but I didn’t cry while reading History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera, which is about things you should cry about (grief, loss, etc). I flew through this book because it happens in such a short amount of time. This book happens in one day. Everything that happens occurs over the course of one day. And every second of this day was pure heaven for me.

I really enjoyed Natasha’s character. While I couldn’t really identify with her because I was born in the United States, and I’m white, I definitely empathized with her. I felt for her, for her situation with her family. Personally, I think her father should be the one to be deported while she, her mom, and her brother should all get to stay in the US. But anyway, I absolutely loved how in love with music she was and how she absolutely did not believe in love. That just made the story a bit more interesting. Because this is a love story. She and Daniel made quite a pair because he believes in fate and destiny and love while she believes in science. It was just so funny and so entertaining to see him try to get her to believe in love through science.

Now Daniel is like my precious baby. I love him to death. He cares about her so much, and it is pretty much love at second sight. He fell in love with Natasha in a very short amount of time, and just wanted to be with her. And then we have the whole situation with his interview with Yale when he doesn’t want to go to Yale and he doesn’t want to be a doctor, like his parents want him to be. He wants to be a poet. He wants to be a writer, which is how I connected to him. I also love how much he accepts his Korean heritage rather than despise it, like his brother does.

Speaking of his brother, I fucking hated Charlie. Like I wanted to gut him throughout the entirety of the book. He was such an asshole and he was such a jerk to his little brother. And to Natasha. He was racist and he was sexist, and those are two things that piss me off like nothing else. I honestly just wanted him to meet a tragic end because I hated him. I also had a pretty mild dislike towards his father, who was racist, but it wasn’t super strong. I just hated the way he treated Natasha and how he would never let Daniel do his own thing. He either went to Yale to be a doctor or he had to pay for college himself. Daniel feeling constricted by his father was also something I could relate to because one of my hot buttons is lack of freedom. I can’t stand it when people try and tell me what to do with my life.

And now I need to really talk about the fuck up that is Natasha’s father. Like I wanted to see him deported back to Jamaica while his family stayed here because he sure as hell did not deserve them. And in fact, he regretted them, which really pissed me off. He blamed them for him not making it as an actor. He needed to provide for his family, but no. He just resented them and didn’t provide for them. He just did not care for them at all, and I just wanted him gone. I also hated his reaction to Daniel and the whole situation because he was a really big asshat. But I digress.

Also, for the first time ever, I actually got to feel the pain of someone who is an illegal immigrant and is being deported. I know about how hard their life is. That hit me right between the eyes because of the immigration situation we have going on in the US. I got to see how they felt, their whole situation, and how it isn’t always black and white. I think that the children should be able to stay behind, get adopted, whatever. Because its not the children’s fault that they were brought here illegally. It was their parents’ fault.

But this book has actually changed my mind a little bit about illegal immigrants. I wasn’t one of those anti-immigration people or anything, but I had a certain amount of dislike towards illegal immigrants, and now I think that I would actually be more open to immigration and helping illegal immigrants to become legal. I think that’s something that interests me. I just want to help them now.

Something else that this book brought up was the connections between people, whether you know them or they are a complete stranger. We influence people throughout all of our lives, and we got to see that in this novel because we follow every person they influence throughout the day. We get to see how they impact that person and how that person impacts another person and so on and so forth. This just really made me think about the connections I make with the people in my own life and all those lives that I touch in some way, and I think that’s something we all should be thinking about.

But overall, I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, the story line, and just everything about this novel. I haven’t read a contemporary this good in quite a while, and I am so glad that I decided to pick this one up. It was bloody fantastic!!

5stars

And there you have it! That was my review of The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon. What’s your favorite contemporary novel? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

2 thoughts on “The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

