History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am super excited to be discussing History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera because it was fantastic. This is the first book I have read by Adam and the first book where the main character is gay. This story was very gripping, very powerful, and I just think this is a really important book that everyone should read. But let’s just go ahead and jump into the review!

Synopsis:

“When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.”

My Thoughts:

Wow, I really enjoyed this book, guys. I will admit that I was kind of disappointed that I didn’t have the same reaction to it that pretty much everyone else had (screaming, gasping, crying, destroying…). There were moments where I was sad (okay, pretty much the entire book I was sad), there were moments where I was joyously happy, and there were moments where the story totally shocked me and took me to a place I never expected. Overall, this book gave me a lot of feelings.

This is actually the first book I’ve read where the main character was gay (pretty surprising considering the amount of diverse books we have now, even if there aren’t nearly enough.), but this is mainly because I am a completely different person than I was about six or seven months ago. I am so much more open-minded about diversity, which is why I ended up really enjoying this book. I loved learning and experiencing the love story between Theo and Griffin, even when we learned some not so great truths. It was still a beautiful love story.

I also really enjoyed seeing the friendship between Jackson and Griffin emerge over Theo’s death. While at first I definitely thought it was a bad idea because they used to be arch enemies, I ended up really enjoying their dynamic. They ended up being really good for each other. It was so nice to see their friendship throughout the novel, how they were helping each other with their grief, and how they were helping each other remember the good things about Theo. It was just one of my absolute favorite things about the novel.

There is a character that I can’t talk about without spoiling anything, but know that I also really enjoyed this character, even if most of the time they seemed like a side character. At least until the last hundred pages or so. Then shit gets crazy, and my mind is blown. But anyway, they were a very nice addition to the story, and I am so glad at the end, they ended up being a main character.

I also absolutely loved how OCD was represented in this novel. It was so realistic and so authentic. I could relate a lot to the numbers thing that Griffin had because that is something I suffer from as well as how he could only be on a certain side of someone. That’s something else I can relate back so because I suffer from OCD, and this OCD is such a major part of Griffin, and it is represented so well. I loved it. In so many YA novels, OCD is sort of brushed over, but I just loved seeing it actually accurately represented. I also loved how its not the central plot of the story because this isn’t about mental health or Griffin trying to work through his OCD. Its about love and loss and grief, and just Griffin trying to get through Theo’s death, but the OCD is still a very prominent part of the story, and I absolutely loved that.

I just loved Adam Silvera’s writing style as well because this is my first book by him, and it did not disappoint. He just has this poetic writing style that I am in love with. I just love the way in this book he managed to capture how much grief and loss can really overwhelm a person, push them to make some pretty questionable decisions. He really captured these themes realistically, and I was so in love with that.

Overall, I really enjoyed this book. I loved the characters, the story line, the writing, and just everything about it. It was so good, and while this way my first novel by Adam Silvera, it won’t be my last. I am anticipating his next book (which comes out later this year!), and can’t wait to see more from him!

4-and-a-half-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera. What is your favorite book with LGBTQUIA representation? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this review today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

