Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am so excited to discuss with you my thoughts, opinions, and feels on Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. This is a contemporary novel that came out in 2015, and the movie trailer has also been released (I read this book the day the first trailer was released), which looks absolutely amazing. However, that trailer is very spoilery and if you haven’t read the book, then you definitely should not watch the trailer. But this book was absolutely fanfreakingtastic. I loved it so much. It made me remember why I love contemporaries so much. But before I get more into my thoughts, let’s just jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.”

My Thoughts:

OH MY GOD. THIS BOOK WAS FUCKING FANTASTIC.

I was not expecting much from this book. I just read it because the trailer for the movie dropped and I watched it; it was amazing, and I really wanted to read the source material. This book is exactly what I needed to read. It was a fluffy contemporary, but it wasn’t all fluff. There was substance to it; there was complexity, not to mention the fact that it blew my mind. This is another book that I just need to put on my All Time Favorites list. That list is going to be so hard to make at the end of the year…

But let me just talk about the characters. I loved our main character, Madeline. She loved books and she did these one line reviews, which just made me laugh. I loved how close to her mom she was, and her fantastic friendship with Carla, not to mention the fact that she is a person of color, which is an added bonus. She was just such a likable character. She’s been sick her entire life, and she can’t leave the house, so she just watches people. Which is of course how our beautiful Madeline meets Olly.

He was not what I expected in the slightest. I wasn’t sure I would like his character. I could not tell what he was really like from the synopsis. But then we met him and suddenly I was in love with him. I was in love with how much he cared about his family, how much he cared about Madeline, and just what he was willing to do for those he cared about. He was definitely a surprising character for me, and I will ship him and Maddy for the rest of my days. They are literally the cutest thing ever.

I also want to mention Carla who I immediately loved. I loved how much she cared about Maddy, how much she cared about Maddy’s happiness, and just how great of a person she was. She was a very great friend to Madeline, in my opinion. She was willing to do anything for this girl, and her mom pissed me off when she did what she did (which I still do not agree with and will never agree with).

Now let’s talk about Maddy’s Mom. From the start, I knew there was something off about her. I had no idea what it was, but I just felt that something was really wrong. This was mostly because of her reaction to things. How against she was to Maddy touching anyone or having contact with anyone who wasn’t her or Carla and occasionally one of her tutors. Although she still wasn’t allowed to have physical contact with her tutors. It was also because of her reaction to the Incident and how much she overreacted. She wasn’t being protective. I knew it was something else, and now it all makes sense.

The story line, however, was what originally interested me. I was so curious to read a book about a girl who is allergic to literally everything, so she never goes outside. But the story was so much more than that, what with Maddy growing as a person and challenging herself, getting out of her comfort zone. From falling in love to for once doing something she isn’t supposed to be doing. I have mad respect for Maddy. The love story, of course, was my favorite part because it was so cute, and because Olly is bae.

Also, something else that I really enjoyed in the book was the mixed media. I love it when a book has things like IMs and emails and illustrations and notes. It just always adds a little something extra to the story. I think they really helped the story, and I really enjoyed looking at them and reading them. They definitely aided in the story telling.

Overall, this was a pretty rocking fantastic read, and I am so excited to see the movie in May. This book was absolutely fanfreakingtastic. I loved the story line, the characters, the love story, and the writing (with the mixed media, of course). This is probably one of my favorite contemporaries to date, and I am so freaking excited to read another book by Nicola Yoon!

5stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon. What’s your favorite contemporary? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

5 thoughts on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

  1. I really like that you chose to read the book after seeing the trailer for the movie. I am starting A Monster Calls tonight because I had seen the trailer on youtube and thought the premise was really interesting. Regarding your review, this definitely sounds like an interesting read and mixed media is always great when it is done right so that’s awesome that it appeared to work here. Great review! (Also, love the allusion to The Perks of Being a Wallflower)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

