The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am very excited to discuss the third book in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series by Lemony Snicket, The Wide Window. This one was definitely my favorite thus far, and I just flew through this book. This review will be spoiler-free for The Wide Window, but since this is the third book in the series, I don’t recommend you staying unless you have read the first two books. I did a review for both The Bad Beginning and The Reptile Room, if you would like to check that out. But goodbye for now, those that haven’t read books 1 and 2! Now let’s just go ahead and get into the review because this was definitely a good one.

Synopsis:

“Dear Reader,

If you have not read anything about the Baudelaire orphans, then before you read even one more sentence, you should know this: Violet, Klaus, and Sunny are kindhearted and quick-witted; but their lives, I am sorry to say, are filled with bad luck and misery. All of the stories about these three children are unhappy and wretched, and this one may be the worst of them all. If you haven’t got the stomach for a story that includes a hurricane, a signalling device, hungry leeches, cold cucumber soup, a horrible villain, and a doll named Pretty Penny, then this book will probably fill you with despair. I will continue to record these tragic tales, for that is what I do. You, however, should decide for yourself whether you can possibly endure this miserable story.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket”

My Thoughts:

This book was one of the most action packed books of the series thus far, and I really enjoyed it. I was frustrated pretty much for the entirety of the book because Mr. Poe just never believes them when they speak of someone being disguised as Count Olaf. I was frustrated with Aunt Josephine for a variety of different reasons, some of which were her irrational fear of everything (for example: realtors. What kind of person is afraid of realtors?) and her also not believing them when they told her that the Captain was really Count Olaf in disguise.

Something that just had me on the edge of my seat because of my knowledge of it was the spoiling of the fate of Aunt Josephine. Lemony Snicket spoils that something will happen to her, though he doesn’t really say what. But just knowing that something terrible would befall her just made me all tense and kept me on the edge of my seat. This contributing with his unusual writing style definitely kept me on my toes. His writing style is so different to anything I have ever read and I still can’t decide if I like it or not.

But I loved how the children grew even closer than before and we actually got to see them fight for once. They always seem to get along and it was really interesting to see them quarrel like normal siblings. I also loved how we learned something new about the children, and that we are continuing to learn more about them.

The whole last half of the book, I was so nervous about what was going to happen because even if I knew (which I did) that Count Olaf would not get the children at the end of the book, my mind in the state of reading had not quite grasped that yet. So I spent the majority of the book in a constant state of peril and nervous anxiety because I did not want that evil man to get the children. Thank God he didn’t, but we all know he will get them eventually.

Overall, I think the writing was great, the character development was great, it gave me all the feels, and it was a solid addition to A Series of Unfortunate Events. Can’t wait to read the next book!

4-and-a-half-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket. What is a book that is wacky/different that you have enjoyed? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

2 thoughts on “The Wide Window by Lemony Snicket | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

