Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am excited to come at you with a review of a book that I have heard pretty decent things about. I definitely enjoyed it, and I audiobooked it, which is definitely the way to go, I believe. The audiobook was phenomenal. This is a science fiction and a thriller novel rolled into one. It was a bit slow, in my opinion, but it didn’t bother me too much. I read this in like a day and a half. But let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

“A girl named Rose is riding her new bike near her home in Deadwood, South Dakota, when she falls through the earth. She wakes up at the bottom of a square hole, its walls glowing with intricate carvings. But the firemen who come to save her peer down upon something even stranger: a little girl in the palm of a giant metal hand.

Seventeen years later, the mystery of the bizarre artifact remains unsolved—its origins, architects, and purpose unknown. Its carbon dating defies belief; military reports are redacted; theories are floated, then rejected.

But some can never stop searching for answers.

Rose Franklin is now a highly trained physicist leading a top secret team to crack the hand’s code. And along with her colleagues, she is being interviewed by a nameless interrogator whose power and purview are as enigmatic as the provenance of the relic. What’s clear is that Rose and her compatriots are on the edge of unraveling history’s most perplexing discovery—and figuring out what it portends for humanity. But once the pieces of the puzzle are in place, will the result prove to be an instrument of lasting peace or a weapon of mass destruction?”

My Thoughts:

Wow, this book was really good! The audiobook had an entire cast of narrators, which definitely helped ground me into the story, and helped me to really feel for the characters. All of the narrators were really good, and I think they captured who the characters were in the inflections of their voices. None of them were monotone and they had accents and just really helped me enjoy the story.

However, this was definitely a plot-driven story. I did find the plot to be very interesting, though it wasn’t my favorite part of the novel. What I really wanted to focus on when I was listening to the audiobook was the characters. The characters are what sold it for me. I quickly became attached to most of the characters, in particular Dr. Rose Franklin. I loved how passionate she was about the project, and just every mothering element she brought to the story. I loved seeing how she and everyone else interacted (with the exception of Alyssa; I never liked her character). Everyone just had a very nice chemistry with each other, and that really came through in the audiobook.

Overall, I would say this was a very interesting story with complex and interesting characters. I really liked the writing, and just the way that Sylvain worded things. I definitely think I will be continuing on with the rest of the series, so I am very excited to get my hands on the next book, which comes out April 4, 2017.

4-and-a-half-stars
4.5/5 stars

And there you have it! That was my spoiler-free review of Sleeping Giants. What is your favorite audiobook that you’ve ever listened to? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

One thought on “Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

