Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am so freaking excited to come at you with a review of a contemporary that has made its way onto my all time favorites list, and that is Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover. This is the first book by Colleen Hoover that I have ever read, and it most certainly will not be the last. It was everything I wanted and more. Its super emotional and really hits you in the feels, and I did cry once or twice, but it was so, so good. This is an adult novel with a heavy, intense story line centered around sex, so if you aren’t comfortable with that topic, I do not recommend you check this book out, but if you are comfortable with that, I highly, highly recommend you give this novel a try. It was fabulous. But let’s jump right into the review!

Synopsis:

“When Tate Collins meets airline pilot Miles Archer, she knows it isn’t love at first sight. They wouldn’t even go so far as to consider themselves friends. The only thing Tate and Miles have in common is an undeniable mutual attraction. Once their desires are out in the open, they realize they have the perfect set-up. He doesn’t want love, she doesn’t have time for love, so that just leaves the sex. Their arrangement could be surprisingly seamless, as long as Tate can stick to the only two rules Miles has for her.

Never ask about the past.
Don’t expect a future.

They think they can handle it, but realize almost immediately they can’t handle it at all.

Hearts get infiltrated.
Promises get broken.
Rules get shattered.
Love gets ugly.”

My Thoughts:

Wow, this book was absolutely fanfreakingtastic.

I loved every single aspect of this story. I wasn’t sure if I would end up liking Miles because I have heard from a couple of people that he was a jerk (and trust me, sometimes he really was a complete asshat), but I actually ended up really enjoying his character, especially since we were coming to know his past as readers while also understanding and knowing how hurt Tate was because Miles just would not let her in. I think Miles was just a really interesting character. He was harboring so much hurt, and felt that he did not deserve to be loved. I completely understand why he pushed Tate away because he did not want to hurt her as well.

I also really liked Tate. While she did not have a huge complicated backstory, I loved learning about when she was growing up and her brother was being super overprotective. I loved how much she cared about Miles, and how much she loved him, which is why the little arrangement she had with Miles just would not work because she was already falling in love with him. Oh, and speaking of her brother, I freaking loved see him protective of Tate. The times when he would punch Miles, I just felt how freaking upset he was at the bastard for hurting his little sister, and I loved it.

Another character I really enjoyed was definitely Cap. He was just hilarious, and I totally did not see it coming the thing where he knows the person. (Spoilers, guys. Spoilers.) I loved seeing the developing friendship between him and Tate. It was one of my favorite parts of the book! He was just such a nice and wise old man, and he really brought something extra to the story. And a character that I did not expect to like was actually Rachel. Just to be clear, I was not a huge fan of her in the beginning. I just did not really understand why Miles was infatuated with her. She seemed average to me. And then we got to see her POV, and I actually really enjoyed her character.

The story line was what initially made me intrigued about the book because I had yet (prior to reading Ugly Love) to find a good, well-developed novel about a friends with benefits (minus the friends part) sort of relationship. The story line just completely gripped me from the start and would not let me go. I loved seeing how Tate tried to fight her feelings for Miles, and the sexy times were a major plus. I felt that the plot was really strong, and this book also just really shined a light on a side of romance that we typically don’t see, in my opinion.

Also, the ending was everything I wanted and more. Like we got complete and total closure, which never happens when I am reading contemporaries. They usually end super short with little to no conclusion (which is frustrating as hell), and this really concludes the novel in a really nice way, and I loved it. I am pretty sure that I thought this book would end very poorly. But I was pleasantly surprised, which makes me happy!

Overall, this book was absolutely fantabulous! The writing was gorgeous and gripping, the story line was beautiful and ugly at the same time and I loved it so much. The characters were amazing, and I just really, really enjoyed this novel.

5stars
5/5 stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover. What is your all time favorite contemporary? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

One thought on “Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

