January Wrap Up!

Hey, guys! I am so happy to be talking about the books I read this month because for the first time in forever I actually enjoyed every single book I read this month. Also, I read more books than I have in months. I would say I am pretty much over my reading slump, which I am super happy about. I read the exact amount of books I was aiming for (6 books), which also made me super happy. And I participated in the Hooked On Books Twenty Four Hour readathon! But before I get into that, let’s just jump right into the books I read in the month of January.

The first book I read was The Lost Herondale by Cassandra Clare and Robin Wasserman.

28954137

This is the second novella in the Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy series, and I really enjoyed it. I definitely enjoyed this one better than the first novella (which was also great!). I think the writing was great, the story line was very interesting, the character interactions were heartbreaking and heartwarming. The humor was probably my favorite aspect about this novella. I laughed out loud several times whilst reading this, so much so that my brother put on his headphones so he wouldn’t have to listen to me. But anyway, I definitely think this series is going in interesting places, and I can’t wait to see where the story goes to next! I gave this 4.5/5 stars, and I have my review up of both Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy and The Lost Herondale so you should check that out.

The next book I read was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness.

8621462

This is a stand alone novel that I picked up because I have heard nothing but fantastic things about it. It follows a boy named Connor who is struggling to face the inevitability of his sick mother’s death, and to help with that, a Monster visits him and tells him stories. This book was so moving, so powerful, and such a gripping story.I know this story will stay with me for years. I just know that it will resonate with me. The writing is gorgeous, the illsutrations throughout it are absolutely stunning, and I am just so glad that I picked this one up and read it. I gave this 5/5 stars, and I also did a review of this book, so if you want to check that out, feel free to do so.

The next book I read was Myths of Immortality by Raye Wagner.

29412228

This is the third book in the Sphinx series, which is one of my all time favorite series, and I really enjoyed it. This was actually sent to me by Raye Wagner, the author, so thank you for sending this to me. It definitely was not my favorite; it sort of felt like a filler novel, but it still gave me all the feels, and I did cry a couple of times whilst reading it. Since this is the third book, I can’t really tell you all that much about it, but just know this series is full of love, greek mythology, action, and amazing writing. This book in particular really helped develop the characters more, which I enjoyed, and that was one of the main reasons I enjoyed it so much, especially our main character Hope. She goes through extensive character development in this novel. But I ended up giving it 4/5 stars, and my review is also up for this one.

The next book I read was The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket.

78418

This is the second book the A Series of Unfortunate Events series, and I actually really enjoyed, much more than the first book, A Bad Beginning. This is a series that surrounds the three Baudelaire children (Klaus, Sunny and Violet) who are experiencing the deaths of their parents and have been shipped off to a few “relatives” houses, the first of which was Count Olaf, a horrible man who wants their family fortune and is willing to do anything to get it. This series is actually pretty depressing, but also very action-packed and really, really good. This book actually made me scared of Count Olaf. He never really scared me in the first book, but this book really showcased the lengths Count Olaf would go to in order to obtain their fortune. I think all of the characters really showed significant development in this novel (minus Mr. Poe; that man never learns anything…). The writing was great, the story line was pretty awesome, and I really enjoyed this. I gave it 4/5 stars, and I did a review of both A Bad Beginning and The Reptile Room, if you are interested in all of my thoughts on these two books.

The next book I read was Wayfarer by Alexandra Bracken.

20983366

This is the second and final book in the fabulous Passenger duology. This is now one of my favorite finales of all time, and it will definitely be on my favorites list for this year. I actually read this for the readathon. That’s really why I participated in the readathon. I just wanted to finally have time to finish this. If you don’t know, Passenger is a scavenger hunt through time. We follow Etta, a girl who discovers she can time travel, and she is being forced to look for this object that is hidden somewhere in time. And if she doesn’t find it, her mother will be killed. Its very action-packed, thrilling, diverse, and the first book is a bit heavy on the romance, but it didn’t really bother me all that much. In the second book, the romance was not the main and central focus on the story, which is why I definitely think I enjoyed it much more than Passenger (which is also great). Wayfarer was captivating and action-packed and suspenseful and just so fantastic. It gave me all of the feels. The characters were definitely my favorite part of the story because they just became so much more developed in this story, and I really enjoyed all of the new characters we were introduced to. The writing was gorgeous, the story line was kickass, and the characters were absolutely fantabulous. I absolutely loved this! I obviously gave this 5/5 stars, and I have a review coming soon.

And the last book that I read in January was Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel.

25733990

This is the first book in the Themis Files series, and I actually audiobooked this, which I think is the way to go. The audiobook was phenomenal. This story is a thriller science-fiction sort of novel, and I also think its best to go in blind, which is what I did. I knew absolutely nothing about the story. I definitely think it was interesting, though it wasn’t really an original idea. It definitely had some elements I have seen before, but I still really enjoyed it. The story line was something that wasn’t really the strong part of the book, in my opinion. I really enjoyed the characters. The characters were what made me love it so much. We really get to know them, especially in the audiobook, and I quickly grew attached to them in the book. I definitely think I will be carrying on with the next book, which comes out April 4, 2017. I gave it 4/5 stars, and my review will be up soon!

And there you have it! Those were the books that I read in January of 2017. What was your favorite book that you read this month? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

