The Bad Beginning & The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I am very excited to come at you with a review of the first two books in the A Series of Unfortunate Events series by Lemony Snicket. This is a children’s book series that apparently most people read growing up, and I actually had never heard of this series until I started watching JessetheReader’s YouTube videos. And then I heard about the Netflix series coming out and I decided this was a series that I had to read. I am enjoying it so far, so let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

I’m sorry to say that the book you are holding in your hands is extremely unpleasant. It tells an unhappy tale about three very unlucky children. Even though they are charming and clever, the Baudelaire siblings lead lives filled with misery and woe. From the very first page of this book when the children are at the beach and receive terrible news, continuing on through the entire story, disaster lurks at their heels. One might say they are magnets for misfortune.

In this short book alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, and cold porridge for breakfast.

It is my sad duty to write down these unpleasant tales, but there is nothing stopping you from putting this book down at once and reading something happy, if you prefer that sort of thing.

With all due respect,
Lemony Snicket”

My Thoughts on The Bad Beginning:

I did enjoy this book and am excited for the Netflix series. I despise Count Olaf and hope something horrible befalls him at some point in this series. And I hated the ending. It was terrible. I don’t like Mr. Poe and I love Justice Strauss. I will say I felt a little disconnected with a few of the characters. I wasn’t really scared of Count Olaf at all, and while I really liked the children, I didn’t really have any emotional connection to them throughout the story. But I did enjoy the plot because I thought it was clever, the way Lemony Snicket told the story and what Count Olaf’s plan was in order to obtain their fortune. Overall, I think this novel had great writing, a very interesting plot, and I am super interested in where the story goes in the next book!

4-stars
4/5 stars

Synopsis:

Dear Reader,

If you have picked up this book with the hope of finding a simple and cheery tale, I’m afraid you have picked up the wrong book altogether. The story may seem cheery at first, when the Baudelaire children spend time in the company of some interesting reptiles and a giddy uncle, but don’t be fooled. If you know anything at all about the unlucky Baudelaire children, you already know that even pleasant events lead down the same road to misery.

In fact, within the pages you now hold in your hands, the three siblings endure a car accident, a terrible odor, a deadly serpent, a long knife, a large brass reading lamp, and the appearance of a person they’d hoped never to see again.

I am bound to record these tragic events, but you are free to put this book back on the shelf and seek something lighter.

With all due respect,

Lemony Snicket”

My Thoughts on The Reptile Room:

I really enjoyed this installment in the Series of Unfortunate Events series. The whole book had me very scared and petrified. It just had this vibe of creepiness. I feel like Lemony Snicket really upped his game with this one. In the last book, I was not really all that scared of Count Olaf. Did I think what he was doing to those kids in order to get the fortune was terrible and wrong? Yes, but this book is really where we got to see the lengths to which he will go in order to obtain their fortune.

Lemony Snicket actually spoils his own book when you’re reading it, which kind of upset me because I was prepared for what was going to happen. I also had suspicions as to how the book would end, which were confirmed because I predicted most of what would happen in the end, but that didn’t make it any less enjoyable. In fact, I was pretty surprised and happy that I predicted how things would go down because if you are unaware, I am terrible at bookish predictions, but I digress.

I really think the children grew as characters in the novel as well, and I just felt more in tune with the characters. I sort of felt disconnected in the first book, but I definitely am liking the characters more, and I am enjoying the writing style, the super interesting plot line, and just the general direction that the series seems to be heading in. I am very excited to get to the next novel in the series. I am sure it will be fantastic!

4-and-a-half-stars
4.5/5 stars

And there you have it! That was my review of The Bad Beginning and The Reptile Room. Have any of you ever read the series? What did you think of it? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this review today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

3 thoughts on “The Bad Beginning & The Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

