A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! I’m coming at you with a book review I have been dying to post because I really enjoyed this book. It was a book that was an impulse buy for me because it was the original cover, it was reasonably priced, and I was just dying to get my hands on it, especially since the movie is out now. I really hope I get the chance to see it because everyone has been raving about it, saying it is a super faithful adaptation, which has me very excited. But let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

“The monster showed up after midnight. As they do.

But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting. He’s been expecting the one from his nightmare, the one he’s had nearly every night since his mother started her treatments, the one with the darkness and the wind and the screaming…

This monster is something different, though. Something ancient, something wild. And it wants the most dangerous thing of all from Conor.

It wants the truth.”

My Thoughts:

This book was fantastic. It was such a moving and powerful story that covered a variety of different topics, and I know that it will resonate with me for a long time. The writing was absolutely flawless. I just love how the story was told. The monster taught Conor through stories to face his fear, admit a truth. He just wanted to help Conor, to allow him to heal. And the only way to do that was with the truth. This story definitely made my throat close up and I teared up a lot of times because this story packs a pretty powerful emotional punch, but I didn’t actually cry. It was still an incredibly moving story, though.

One of my favorite parts about the book was definitely the stunning illustrations throughout it. That’s why I wanted to buy the original version of the book and not the movie edition. I really think the illustrations helped me to picture some of the things that happened in the story and they really just made the story more beautiful. I also loved how much I learned about grief, true grief. It really showcased the heartbreak and total loss one feels, but also showed how you cope with this loss. You do what you need to do. One of my favorite quotes from the book that Conor’s mom said was, “And if you need to break things, then by God, you break them good and hard.” Its a coping mechanism. Sometimes you just need to get it out of your system, and I appreciated that being represented.

Overall, this was just a really fantastic book, and it is definitely going to be on my favorites list at the end of the year. It had a great story line, a great cast of characters, and amazing writing. And now I am so excited to see the movie because if it is anything like the book, then it will be spectacular. I highly, highly recommend you all check out A Monster Calls if you get the chance!

5stars
5/5 stars

And there you have it! That was my review of A Monster Calls. Have any of you seen the movie and if you have, what did you think of it? Comment down below! I am dying to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

2 thoughts on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

