Myths of Immortality by Raye Wagner | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! Its that time of year again. We finally got the third installment in the Sphinx series and I really enjoyed it. I don’t think it was my favorite in the series, but I still really liked it, and I think that the next book will rock my socks off. I am working with the author on this post, but all of my opinions are my own and I was not paid to read or review the book. You should also know that while this review does not spoil Myths of Immortality, it will spoil Curse of the Sphinx and Demigods and Monsters, so if you don’t want to know what happens in those books, I suggest you read those books and then come back and we can discuss the third one in non-spoilery detail. So goodbye for now! But let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

“In the realm of the dead, there are no lies.
Hope Nicholas is desperate to believe that the truth will set her free from the bindings of Apollo’s curse. But to get the truth, she must travel to the Underworld, a feat near impossible for the living. The gods there have their own agendas and, forced to forge alliances with the most unlikely allies, Hope will find that death is not the worst torment of the Underworld.
Athan Michael spent months chasing Hope, only to have her disappear once again. And when he discovers her destination, he knows the treacherous journey to the Underworld is one he cannot take alone. Forced to put aside his past with Xan and Dahlia, the three demigods embark on their own quest. But the past will not stay buried, and Athan must decide how much he’s willing to sacrifice to help Hope break the curse.”

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. I do feel like most of it was just filler, though it was mostly the first half that was filler. It was really difficult for me to make it through the first half because it is very slow and not much happens. The second half, however, is a completely different story. A whole lot happens in the second half. There is action, suspense, and twists and turns and emotional moments, and that is what really made me enjoy this book so much. This definitely is not my favorite in the series, but it was still very good and sets up the next book pretty well.

There is so much character development throughout the novel, and it was interesting to see the dynamic between Athan and Xan and then who Hope is when she isn’t around Athan. We really got to see the relationships between the characters and their different dynamics. We got to see the real love between Athan and his father, Hermes, who can still be an asshole to Hope, but that’s just because she’s a monster and he is super protective of Athan.

We also got to see more of the gods and godesses and my favorite Greek god was in this, which was pretty exciting. I loved learning more about the other gods and godesses and more Greek Mythology and how Raye interpreted those gods and godesses into this series, their personalities and mannerisms and the way they handle things. I definitely think we see my favorite god in a different light than I have seen him (meaning the Percy Jackson series), and I really enjoyed seeing her interpretation of this god.

Overall, I think this was a good installment to the Sphinx series. It had excellent writing (as always), beautiful world building, and great character development. I really think the characters were the strongest part of this novel. But I am very excited for the next installment in the series, which unfortunately doesn’t come out until next year. But all good things to those who wait, right?

4-stars
4/5 stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Myths of Immortality by Raye Wagner. Whats your favorite type of mythology? Mine is actually Egyptian, which is why one of my all time favorite series is the Kane Chronicles by Rick Riordan. But that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

2 thoughts on “Myths of Immortality by Raye Wagner | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

