Worst Books of 2016

Hey, guys! So I originally was not going to do this because I am quite terrified of backlash. But there are some books I definitely was not satisfied with this year, and I think it helps to talk it out, to talk through these books. Now these are just going to be my opinions. Just because I don’t like these books, doesn’t mean you can’t like these books. You are entitled to your own opinion, and I am happy for you that you enjoyed these books! I just didn’t enjoy them myself. But let’s just go ahead and get into the worst books that I read in 2016!

The first book to immediately come to mind is Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

9680718

I love Jennifer’s books. The Lux series is one of my favorite series of all time and I have read a lot of her other books and I really enjoyed them a whole lot. They seemed very original, very captivating and they were so great. But I hated this book. It was pretty much like a carbon copy of the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead, but with Demons and of course, Demon Hunters. I didn’t finish this book. I DNF’d it. The more I thought about the similarities between this book and Vampire Academy, the more frustrated and angry I got at this knockoff version of that fantastic series. Alexandria (its so tragic I didn’t like this series; her name is the same as mine) had a similar backstory to Rose Hathaway, the story line was similar (and too much like it), the situations Alex was put in were extremely similar to a lot of the situations that Rose was put it in and finally I just stopped reading it. 10/10 do not recommend.

The next book I really had problems with was P. S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han.

20698530

Please don’t hate me for not liking this book. Okay, I really enjoyed To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. It was fun, quick, and humorous and I really enjoyed it. But this book just seemed to take a lot of the things I enjoyed in the last book and twisted them. The problem was not Lara Jean. I still love her, but Peter was just a jerk in this book. A lot of the things he said and did in this book just made me uneasy and rubbed me the wrong way. I, however, was 500% Team John Ambrose McLaren, and I liked him so much more than Peter. I thought there was a lot of really petty high school drama that did not need to be at the front of this book or the main conflict. That’s what contributed the most to me not liking this book. And its not because I am not in high school anymore. I was in high school when I read this, and I just found it hard to get through this book because of the story line and the conflicts. The combination of the two of them just made it a really unenjoyable read for me, and I didn’t like it at all. I ended up giving it 3/5 stars.

Another book I was not a huge fan of, and apparently many people didn’t like it either, was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas.

16096824

I know what you’re thinking. “But you used to rave about this, Allie! And you rave about A Court of Mist and Fury all the time!” I did originally like this book, but upon further contemplation and after reading ACOMAF, I have a different opinion. I don’t like how Tamlin treats his people. I had problems with him in general, but really what makes me really not like this book is the stark contrast between the first half of the book and the second half of the book. The first half of the book is all about Tamlin courting Feyre and earning her trust and whatever. Which is fine, but then its suddenly all action with Feyre and Tamlin held captive and this threat is suddenly introduced and it just seems to come out of nowhere. I did partly enjoy this part of the book, mostly because of Rhys, but what infuriates me is that when Tamlin had the time to help Feyre, all he cared about was his libido and that was it. That was the last straw with the book. Like we still had Rhys, but that wasn’t enough for me to like the book in the end. And the closet scene (if you’ve read it, you know what I am talking about) really said something about Tamlin, I think, as a person and as a character. I just had a ton of problems with the second half of the book. My original rating was 5/5 stars, but I am lowering it to 3.5/5 stars.

The next book that makes this list is The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan.

26252859

I didn’t hate this book. I didn’t love it. It was pretty “meh” to be honest. I heard about the premise of this novel, and I was so excited because I loved Apollo so much in the Percy Jackson series, but this book did not live up to my expectations. I actually thought Apollo was pretty annoying in this novel. He wasn’t as funny as he was in Percy Jackson, and the story just dragged. I felt like nothing happened the entirety of the novel. It just seemed like a lot of it was filler. The only reason I made it through the novel was because we got to revisit characters from Percy Jackson and they made it bearable. I just did not enjoy this book and I originally had it at 4/5 stars, but I am now bumping it down to 3.5/5 stars.

This next book I haven’t seen on anyone’s list for worst books, and maybe I am alone, but I really did not like Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

15507958

Before I get into this one, let me just say I freaking loved the movie, but the book was not something I was a fan of. I liked the movie more than I liked the book. This book was severely overhyped in my opinion. Everyone was saying how devastating this book was and how I will cry when I read it. My friends loved it, and the movie was coming out, so I decided to read it, and I didn’t like it. I loved Louisa and how quirky she was. I loved her fashion sense and I loved most of her family (her sister I did not like at all). But I did not like the writing style, first of all, and I found the story line to be very predictable. I thought it was cliched that Louisa would have a trauma (like we couldn’t have a character that didn’t have a trauma) and it wasn’t addressed hardly at all in the novel, just thrown out there. And I did not ship her and Will. I liked them as friends, but felt there was no chemistry at all there. Because of that, while I did expect the ending, I didn’t cry. I didn’t even tear up. I just expected it. I really didn’t have an emotional attachment to any of the characters and I didn’t relate to them, and for that reason, it was difficult for me to get through the novel. I did originally give it 4/5 stars, but have since lowered it to 3/5 stars.

And the last book on my list of Worst Books Read in 2016 is none other than Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne.

29056083

You all should not be surprised. I have been pretty vocal about my dislike for this book. I hated the format, and I especially hated the writing. Because it wasn’t solely written by J. K. Rowling, there were several things I didn’t like about the writing. It didn’t give me that magical feeling that all of her books always give me when I read them. It was missing that spark and honestly the play seemed far fetched and should never be seen as the eighth addition to the Harry Potter series. Throughout most of the book, the characters did not act like themselves at all. I had problems with the predictable story line, with some of the new characters that were introduced (like how Rose wasn’t there in the play like at all, except for the very beginning), and I think the play missed the opportunity to introduce a LGBTQ+ relationship into the world of Harry Potter. I think that Scorpius and Albus together would have been a fantastic example of LGBTQ+ in this world, and it upset me that a possible relationship between the two of them other than friendship was never even presented or brought up. Overall, I did like a few things, but there were many more things I had problems with than things I thought worked. I ended up giving it 3/5 stars.

And there you have it! These were the Worst Books that I Read in 2016. What was your least favorite book that you read this year? Mine was definitely Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. But that is going to be it for this post today! Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

 

Leave a Reply

