Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy & The Lost Herondale by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Hey, guys! As many of you probably know, I have been wanting to read this series for a while. I did read Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare and I do realize that in my not reading this series, I missed out on a lot of great and amazing stories.  And I also miss my TMI characters, so I decided to pick up the first two books and see if it was as amazing as everyone else said it was. And it was actually better than I thought it would be. Like it was pretty freaking epic. I actually decided to do this review of the first two novellas because they were both pretty short. But before I get more into my thoughts, let’s get on with the review.

***Warning: This review contains spoilers for the events of City of Heavenly Fire. If you wish to not know what goes on at the end of that book, don’t read any part of this review.***

Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

Synopsis:

“After living as a Mundane and a Vampire, Simon never thought he would become a Shadowhunter, but today he begins his training at Shadowhunter Academy.”

My Thoughts:

This was a solid start to the e-series. Simon did frustrate me at points, but it really touched my heart how he stood up for the downworlders. I liked some of the characters introduced and the writing was fabulous as always. One of the end scenes really broke my heart, but I love how it allowed Simon and John (sorry if I am spelling it wrong; I audiobooked this) to bond even more. While I know this definitely is not viewed as the best in the series, I did really enjoy seeing more of Simon and I am excited to read the rest of this series!

The Lost Herondale by Cassandra Clare and Maureen Johnson

Synopsis:

“Simon learns the worst crime a Shadowhunter can commit: desertion of their comrades. In the early nineteenth century, Tobias Herondale abandoned his fellow Shadowhunters in the heat of battle and left them to die. His life was forfeit, but Tobias never returned, and the Clave claimed his wife’s life in exchange for Tobias’s. Simon and his fellow students are shocked to learn of this brutality, especially when it is revealed the woman was pregnant. But what if the child survived… could there be a lost Herondale line out in the world today?”

My Thoughts:

I really, really enjoyed this novella. I think, having read Lady Midnight, that I am appreciating this series more because The Dark Artifices intertwines with this series. While I was still very annoyed at Simon for treating Izzy the way he has been doing because she remembers their relationship and he doesn’t, I did like how his fighting instincts seemed to kick in during one scene and I think he could have handled the downworlder just fine on his own without extra help. I think had this person waited a minute or two more, he could have eliminated the said downworlder on his own. I was pretty curious as to who this downworlder was because we never learned her name. I also loved seeing him interact with Clary at one point in the novella. I think I started to see their friendship at least start to come together and heal a little bit. The humor was so on point in this novella (I often found myself laughing out loud), and I really enjoyed the story line. Overall, I really enjoyed this addition to the series, and I definitely think it was a step up from the second one. And I am super excited to get into the next addition to this series!

And there you have it! Those were my reviews of the first and second novellas in the Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy series. If you’ve read this series, what novella is your favorite? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this review today! Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time!

sig

 

 

 

One thought on “Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy & The Lost Herondale by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan and Maureen Johnson | REVIEW & DISCUSSION

Leave a Reply

