December Wrap Up!

Hey, guys! Wow, this is my last wrap up of the year. Its my last monthly wrap up of 2016! And this is also going to be my last post of the year! That is insane. I ended up reading only three books this month. I was hoping I would get through more books than that, but I can’t say I am surprised. I was really stressed out about finals, so I was studying for the majority of the month and I was running on a couple of hours of sleep throughout the majority of the month, so reading wasn’t super high on my list of priorities. But I am done with my first semester of college (finally!), and I am hoping that for the rest of break, I can just read. But let’s get into it!

The first book I read this month was The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien.

289870

I actually audiobooked this one, and I really enjoyed it. This is probably my favorite audiobook I have ever listened to, and this actually made my love for audiobooks grow so much more. It was super interesting and had an entire cast with sound effects and it was just great. This is a prequel for the Lord of the Rings Trilogy, if you weren’t aware, and it was action-packed, intense, suspenseful, thrilling, and a great starter for the world of the Lord of the Rings. This made me think I could actually read Lord of the Rings. I would suggest someone read this before the rest of the series (as this was recommended I do by someone who has read this book and the rest of the series), and I especially recommend you listen to the audiobook. I did a spoiler-free book review of this with my review of the audiobook in that review, if you are interested in learning more. I ended up giving this a 4/5 hearts.

The next book I read was If I Stay by Gayle Forman.

6990472

This is the first book in Gayle Forman’s If I Stay duology, and I audiobooked this book as well. I actually just stayed up all night and listened to the audiobook. I just couldn’t stop listening. I could not read the physical copy of this book because I just couldn’t seem to get into it, but I really enjoyed the audiobook. If you aren’t aware, this is a contemporary novel surrounding a girl named Mia Hall whose family was in a car accident (including her) and she’s now in a comatose state, but is sort of having an out of body experience and its up to her to decide whether she stays and lives or chooses to die. Its such a powerful and relatable story, such an emotional one, and it was so good. Also, the movie adaptation of the book was so faithful to the book and the movie is actually what made me break down and practically drown in an ocean of my own tears. But I did a spoiler-free review of this novel, if you’re interested, and I ended up giving it 4.5/5 hearts.

The last book I read in 2016 was The Bad Beginning by Lemony Snicket.

78411

I read the ebook version of this, and this wasn’t a reread. This was the first time I had ever read it, and I actually hadn’t even heard of this series until I started watching Jesse’s videos (JessetheReader) on YouTube. And I really want to watch the TV series that is premiering on Netflix in January, so I’ve been wanting to read all of them (I’m reading library copies, so I haven’t been able to binge read them, as I would like to…). This is a children’s series, but I actually did enjoy this. There was action and suspense and I wanted something terrible and bad to happen to Count Olaf. I also really hated the ending. But I knew it would not be a satisfying ending, unfortunately. Mr. Snicket did warn me. I did not do a review of this (I will, if you all are super interested in knowing all of my thoughts), but I did end up giving it a 4/5 hearts.

And there you have it! That was my final wrap up of 2016! What was the last book you read this year? Let me know in the comments! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, I hope you had a wonderful year and a lovely New Year’s, and I will see you all in 2017!

sig

 

Leave a Reply

