Happy Haulidays!

Hey, guys! I can’t believe that Christmas is over and we are about to head into the New Year (and I actually turn 19 tomorrow, which is also exciting.) And with the end of the month, comes time for me to talk about all of the exciting books I got this Christmas because my mother and grandmother love me! My grandmother literally let me loose in Target on Black Friday and told me to buy $60 worth of books that I wanted for Christmas. But let’s get into these fabulous books!

Books I Received From My Mother:

The first book I received was This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab.

23299512

This is the first book in the Monsters of Verity series and literally the only thing I know about this is it is centered around a girl who wants to be a monster and a monster who wants to be a normal boy. I really just wanted it because everyone has been raving about it and I have been meaning to read one of Victoria Schwab’s books for a while now. I follow her on Twitter and she is literally so hilarious and I just love this woman so much. I am currently reading this and it will be my first read of 2017. I am just so excited to see where the story takes me!

The second book I received was Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas.

28260587

This is the fifth book in the fabulous Throne of Glass series and I am so excited to eventually hopefully read this. As you may or may not know, I have been procrastinating in reading this series. I have only read the first three books and have been meaning to read Queen of Shadows since like April or May of this year…Oops. These books are just massive and their size intimidates the hell out of me. But what I can tell you about this series (that I literally rave about in every other post. You all should know what it is about by now.), is that it follows a sixteen year old assassin named Celaena Sardothien who, in the first book, is being entered in a competition with other assassins, thieves and the like to become the King’s Champion, which is pretty much his personal assassin. Its a kickass series that will break you apart and put you back together in the best possible way, and I just love it so damn much. And I hate myself for procrastinating in reading this series. Because its so great! But I digress.

The third book I received was The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski.

20443235

This is the third and final book in The Winner’s Trilogy, and I am so happy I got this so when I go back to college, I can just binge read the last two books in the trilogy. I read the first book a couple of months ago and I really enjoyed it, so I am very excited to read the last two books. And the cover matches! That was my thing with this novel. I wanted a cover that matched the editions I have. If you aren’t aware, this is a dystopian series that features poltics and war and I just really like this series. It is pretty different from other dystopian series that I have read because of the heavy focus on politics, especially with the military. If you haven’t started this series, I highly recommend you do because I have heard nothing but fantastic things about this series in general and the end of the series as well!

The last book I received from my mother was Ugly Love by Colleen Hoover.

17788401

This is a contemporary novel that I have been dying to get my hands on. I have been wanting to read a book by Colleen ever since I started seeing Christine of PolandbananasBOOKS rave about her books on her YouTube channel. This novel features two people who are having a no-strings attached physical sort of relationship (I would say friends with benefits, but they aren’t friends). Miles is a pilot and I know Tate works on the plan, but I am not sure in what capacity (she might be a flight attendant? Don’t quote me on that, though.). Literally that’s all I needed to know to be hooked on this book. Also, its becoming a movie! (Supposedly releasing in 2018.) I am so excited to finally read this and it will probably be on my TBR for next month.

Books I Received From My Grandmother:

The first book I received was Tales From the Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare, Sarah Rees Brennan, Maureen Johnson, and Robin Wasserman.

28954137

This is the bind up for all the companion novellas that follow Simon Lewis after the events of City of Heavenly Fire, but before Lady Midnight. I have heard nothing but great things about these novellas and I did read Lady Midnight without reading these novellas…I am not ashamed, guys. I devoured Lady Midnight and it was still fabulous even without having read these novellas. I can’t really tell you what this is about because spoilers, but I am very excited to eventually get to these!

The second book I received was An Ember In the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir.

27774758

This is the first book in the series of that same name, and I wanted this novel because everyone has been raving about it, and because I also follow Sabaa on Twitter and she seems like such a lovely person. I have watched some of her interviews on BookTube, and I fell in love with her as a person and now I just want to fall in love with her as an author, as a writer. She is a total fangirl and I love her to death. This is considered a fantasy novel, but I can’t tell that its fantasy from the description; it seems more like a dystopian novel. But maybe its a fantasy-dystopian novel. From what I can tell, we follow Laia, a girl who in exchange for help from rebels who promise to rescue her brother who was arrested for treason, will become a spy for them in the Empire’s military academy. There she meets Elias, the school’s best soldier and really, he just wants to escape the tyranny he’s trained to enforce. It sounds super intriguing and I hope I get to this one soon!

The third book I received was Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige.

18602406

This is the third and final book in the Dorothy Must Die Trilogy and it is ridiculously short. Its like less than three hundred pages. I think it would have just been better to have The Wicked Will Rise (Book 2) and Yellow Brick War be one book. They’re both super short. And it would have saved everyone a lot of money. But anyway, this series is a retelling (of sorts) of The Wizard of Oz, and it follows a young girl from Kansas named Amy Gumm who finds herself transported to Oz where she is trained by the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked to wield magic and carry out a mission. In this series, Dorothy came back to Oz and got drunk with power, taking over all of Oz. The line is blurred between Good and Evil and Amy’s one mission is this: Dorothy Must Die. This series is so good, and I am so freaking excited to see how it ends, though I do wish the conclusion was a bit longer. The first book was so much longer than this one. But I am sure it will be badass and spectacular, and I am so ready to see how Danielle concludes the series.

The fourth book I received was Replica by Lauren Oliver.

28448287

This is a book I’ve wanted to read ever since I heard about it, particularly the way you read it. This book is unique in that one side of the book is Gemma’s POV while the other side is Lyra’s POV. You can read Gemma’s POV and then Lyra’s (or vice versa) or you could read one chapter in Lyra’s and then the other in Gemma’s. Both girls have two completely different lives and have two different stories that end up colliding, and that is all I want to know. I really just want to go into this book blind, and I recommend you do that too. I am very excited to get to this, but also apprehensive because I’ve read some of her other books and they weren’t the greatest. I wasn’t super impressed with them and this doesn’t have a super high rating on Goodreads. But I will try to not let that influence me reading the novel. Super excited to get to this!

The final book I received from my grandmother was Something In Between by Melissa de la Cruz.

28688476

This is a contemporary novel that follows a teenage immigrant named Jasmine de los Santos who is pretty much a good girl. She does what she’s told and doesn’t do anything to upset her family or jeopardize her future. She even gets a full-ride college scholarship, but her perfect world shatters when her parents come clean that their visas expired years ago, and they are living in the United States as Illegals. That scholarship goes away, she might not be able to go to college at all, and she and her family might be deported. This prompts Jasmine to do all the bad things she never did growing up, all the things she never had time to do. In doing this, she meets Royce Blakely, a boy who is the son of a Congressman and a total dreamboat. She starts making up her own rules as she goes along and living life like she’s going to die tomorrow because she might not be able to do these things for much longer anyway. It sounds so compelling and talks about a serious topic in our culture today, a topic that needs to be talked about. And its diverse! You know me. All about them diverse books. But again, I am so excited to finally be able to read this!

I also received a Bookish Item from my mother. Its a pillow designed by Evie Seo!

15624209_358972404462366_7709012580269817856_n-2

This pillow is so gorgeous and I love it so much. I am obsessed with the design and the quote. The color scheme is so pretty and it is going to look fabulous in my bookstagram photos (if you’re curious, I’m @alliecatreads if you want to follow me. Got to have that self-promo plug in there). This was something I had wanted for a while and I will definitely be buying more items from Evie because all of her designs are gorgeous!

In addition to the books I received for Christmas, Raye Wagner sent me an e-ARC of the third book in her Sphinx series, Myths of Immortality.

29412228

As I said, this is the third book in this fabulous series, and I am so excited to read this! I have started this and will finish it next month, so it will be in my January TBR, but this is probably one of my most anticipated releases of 2017 (it officially releases January 12, so keep your eye out for it). I am part of Raye’s Street Team (we call ourselves Raye’s Renegades) and I am also part of her launch team for Myths of Immortality. I was on the launch team for Demigods and Monsters (Book 2) last year as well, and I just really love Raye and her books are always fantastic. This series is full of Greek Mythology, love, loss, and general badassery. You guys need to read this series. Her books get better and better and they showcase how much she grows as a writer with each book, and this series is one of my favorites, so you all should definitely check these babies out. You will not be sorry. And this is 100% my opinion. I swear. I am not being paid to read these. I am not being paid for my opinions. They are just that good!

And there you have it! That was my Christmas/December Book Haul. I love everything I received this month and I am so excited for the coming year. But that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, I hope you have a fabulous New Year’s, and I will see you next time!

sig

Leave a Reply

