Book Review: “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman | Spoiler-Free

Hey, guys! I am so glad I finally busted my butt and read this book. I have been in such the mood to listen to audiobooks and since the physical copy of this is at home, I decided to audiobook it and I am so glad I did! I really enjoyed the audiobook. I actually just stayed up for five hours straight to listen to the full audiobook (it wasn’t even in the day; I started it at 2 am and finished it around 7:15ish am.), which is probably best because of my track record with audiobooks. I have the tendency to start one and not listen to it for weeks. But let’s just go ahead and get into the spoiler-free review!

Synopsis:

Just listen, Adam says with a voice that sounds like shrapnel.

I open my eyes wide now.
I sit up as much as I can.
And I listen.

Stay, he says.

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.”

Thoughts on Audiobook:

I really enjoyed this audiobook. I think the narrator did a fabulous job in conveying the emotions of the characters and just really telling the story. Her voice had inflections and variations in the pitch and the tone. So the voice didn’t bore me to death, which is most often the case with audiobooks. Overall, this was a really good audiobook and I am very glad I chose to listen to it in this format!

Thoughts on Book:

I loved this book about as much as I loved the movie. Which is to say a whole freaking lot. I loved the story line, the characters, the writing and just…how it was told. We see flashbacks and present day Mia switch back and forth in the book and it was an interesting way to get the reader caught up on her life. I really loved how relatable Mia and the situation / story line was. This car accident is something that could happen to any of us. It could happen to me and my family. It could happen to your family or to someone you know and love. That’s why this story hit me so hard. I could imagine myself as Mia very easily. This could totally happen to me, which is terrifying.

I also love Kim. I think she’s a great friend and I found the start of their friendship to be hilarious. To think they started off as enemies and became best friends. That’s relatable to me because that’s happened with me and one of my friends. She bullied me in middle school and I met her years later in high school and we became best friends. I also really loved her parents. They cracked me up and I just really loved them for accepting everyone and always being there for one another.

Adam I have pretty mixed feelings about. While I do love him and Mia together, he annoyed me with not having time for Mia and being upset about her maybe making it into Julliard. But I still really enjoyed his character and am glad he and Mia were together.

Can we just talk about the ending? No spoilers, I promise. But what the hell was that ending? And I know in the next book we don’t even pick up where that left off. Because that is set several years later. But I just wish we would have had a more cohesive ending. Or maybe that’s just me wanting to know what happens after the ending. I don’t know. Either way, I wanted more, which is both a complaint and a compliment. Overall, I did really enjoy the book and I am so glad I read it. It was a good one.

8
4.5/5 hearts

And there you have it! That was my review of If I Stay by Gayle Forman. I want to know if you’ve read this book and the sequel, Where She Went, and if you think that’s worth the read. I have been debating reading it, but I have heard so many mixed things that I just want to know if you all think its worth the read. But that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

One thought on “Book Review: “If I Stay” by Gayle Forman | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

