Book Review: “The Hobbit” by J. R. R. Tolkien | Spoiler-Free

Hey, guys! Its finally happened. I finally read this book. I plan on reading Lord of the Rings soonish, but I was advised to read this one first. I actually audiobooked this and I really enjoyed it, which I will go more into later on in the review. This review is completely spoiler-free, so you don’t need to worry about getting spoiled. I haven’t seen any of the movies, so I just started of with a clean slate for this novel, and I am very glad that I did. But enough with my rambling. Let’s just go ahead and get into the review!

Synopsis:

In a hole in the ground there lived a hobbit. Not a nasty, dirty, wet hole, filled with the ends of worms and an oozy smell, nor yet a dry, bare, sandy hole with nothing in it to sit down on or to eat: it was a hobbit-hole, and that means comfort.

Written for J.R.R. Tolkien’s own children, The Hobbit met with instant critical acclaim when it was first published in 1937. Now recognized as a timeless classic, this introduction to the hobbit Bilbo Baggins, the wizard Gandalf, Gollum, and the spectacular world of Middle-earth recounts of the adventures of a reluctant hero, a powerful and dangerous ring, and the cruel dragon Smaug the Magnificent.

Whisked away from his comfortable, unambitious life in his hobbit-hole by a wizard and a company of dwarves, Bilbo Baggins finds himself caught up in a plot to raid the treasure hoard of a large and very dangerous dragon. Maps. Line drawings.”

Thoughts on Audiobook:

This is probably my favorite audiobook that I have ever read. It wasn’t boring for a minute. I think I liked it so much because it wasn’t just a narrator reading the lines. It was a whole cast of voice actors doing different voices for the various different characters, which made it stand out to me, but even more than that was the sound effects. This is the first audiobook I have personally read with sound effects (mind you I have not read a ton of audiobooks) and it really helped me to feel like I was there. You could hear the wind howling through the trees and hear the water in this river sloshing around as the troupe of men tried to pull a boat towards them through the water. It made the audiobook so much more interesting and definitely made it to where I was not bored in the slightest. This sets a high standard for me with audiobooks now because I doubt another audiobook will be this good (other than the Illuminae and Gemina audiobooks; I heard those are fantastic!)

Thoughts on Book:

I did enjoy this novel. I didn’t really have any expectations because I haven’t seen any of the movies, so I didn’t know what to expect really. I found all of the characters to be interesting, even if they did some stupid things throughout the book. I thought the story line was interesting and I really loved the world that Mr. Tolkien has conjured up. Its so interesting and so different from other books that I have read. This was quick and sweet and has me excited to read Lord of the Rings (eventually). And if you are looking to read this book, I 10/10 recommend the audiobook. It is fabulous!!

7
4/5 hearts

And there you have it! That was my spoiler-free review of The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien. If you’ve read the book and seen the movies, do you think they are faithful adaptations of this book? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this review today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

One thought on “Book Review: “The Hobbit” by J. R. R. Tolkien | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

