Winter Wonderland Book Tag!

Hey, guys! Its that time of year again, the time I do a holiday-themed book tag. I love doing these tags because they are a lot of fun! Also, Christmas is right around the corner and its now the time that it’s socially acceptable to listen to All I Want For Christmas Is You by Mariah Carey on a loop. But let’s just go ahead and get into the questions!

One: What book is so happy and so sweet that it just warms your heart?

I don’t really read happy books. Most books I read are action-packed with some madness and sadness etched in, but the first book that brought this feeling to mind, even if the story wasn’t all rainbows and butterflies was Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling.

harry-potter-1

This is the first book in the Harry Potter series and while the story isn’t happy-go-lucky, the feeling you get when reading this definitely is happy and warm. This book always puts me in the Christmas mood. This is just so magical! (I am not sorry for making that pun). It’s hard to convey how happy this story makes me, but it just makes me smile every time I read it. It’s the reason I continued on with the series (despite it being one of the books I was banned from reading by my parents), and why so many people fell in love with the characters and the world.

Two: What’s your favorite book with a white cover?

The first book that I’ve actually read with a white cover that came to mind was To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han.

15749186

Now a book I haven’t read yet that has a white cover (in the exclusive edition that I own) is Heartless by Marissa Meyer. But I haven’t read that yet because I am currently taking a break from reading it. Moving on, this book is very cute and warm and funny and I love it. I actually don’t own this book, but I do have the second one. I need to get my hands on this one, but I read the library copy and it was fabulous. I really love this cover, too. It conveys the overall tone of the book really well and it is very cute and pretty. If you haven’t read this, I recommend it!

Three: You’re sitting in a nice, comfortable chair with a cup of hot chocolate. What monster book are you reading?

By monster, I am assuming it means a tome, like a really big book. Ideally, if this is at home and not at UNI, and my nephew isn’t home so he won’t try to steal my book, I would be (finally!) reading Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.

18006496

This is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series, and it intimidates the hell out of me. This book has been sitting on my bookshelf since July, I believe, and I still haven’t read it. The size of it (648 pages) just frightens me. I don’t even know why. I have read books way longer than that before. Just how big it looks intimidates me, I guess. I have been putting this book off and putting it off, and I just need to grow a pair and read this. In an ideal situation, I would just sit down and devour this thing, but I get distracted very easily and am interrupted quite often, which has also led to me putting it off. Hopefully I will read this before the end of the year, but who knows? Anything could happen. I am hopeful, though, that I will get to this before the end of the Christmas break. Fingers crossed!

Four: Its snowing outside and you decide you want to have a snowball fight. What fictional character do you want to have this snowball fight with?

I would totally have this snowball fight with The Darkling from Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo because I think that boy would look pretty freaking sexy in the snow.

10194157

Can you imagine how hot this boy would look like in the snow? I would let him hit me (or he would just be able to hit me with the snowball because he has abilities), so I could see that triumphant smile become etched onto his beautiful face and…Can you see how obsessed I am with this villain? He’s sexy and he was my favorite character.

I would gladly let him take me captive…Okay, I am going to stop now before I really embarrass myself…

Five: Sadly, your campfire is dying. What last few chapters of a book would you throw in the fire to revive it and keep yourself warm?

This probably won’t be surprising at all. But I would totally throw in the entirety of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, Jack Thorne, and John Tiffany.

29056083

It wasn’t a secret that I was not the biggest fan of this book. I had a lot of really big problems with it, which I am not going to go into, and there were a few parts I liked in this play, but in the end, I hated most of this book, so I would have no remorse in sacrificing it for me to stay warm in the cold winter months. At least it would be good for something!

Six: What book do you love so much that you would buy another copy of it to give to someone as a Christmas gift (or any gift really) to inspire them to start reading?

My favorite book on the planet is one that you all knew had to be in this book tag somewhere because I mention it at least once in most of my posts, and that is Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

16068905

This is a standalone contemporary that I fell in love with from the first time I ever read it. Its relatable to everyone, not just readers. There is something in every single character that can relate to you in some fashion. This book is very easy to read because Rainbow’s writing style seems a little effortless and simplistic in the best possible way. This book addresses some important issues and is one of the most relatable books of all time, so I definitely would gift this to someone and by someone, I mean everyone. I would gift this to everyone because I think everyone needs to read this book.

Seven: Who do you tag?

I tag:

Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf

Rachel @ Life of a Female Bibliophile

Celine @ CelineReads

And there you have it! That was the Winter Wonderland Book Tag! I encourage you all to do this tag because its a lot of fun. What book do you love to read during Christmas? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

Leave a Reply

