December TBR

Hey, guys! Its pretty hard to believe that its already December already! Its the last month of 2016. Its the month of Christmas and its the month of my birthday. Lots of things will be going on this month (I am already stressing about finals), but its also Christmas, so I usually get a lot of reading done around this time. Hopefully I will anyway. But let’s just go ahead and get into the books I would like to get to in the month of December.

The first book I want to try to read is The Rose Society by Marie Lu.

23846013

This is the second book in The Young Elites trilogy, and I am super pumped to read this. This series is centered around a teenage girl who survived this deadly plague that swept through the nation. It reminded me of The Darkest Minds because if you survived this, you were left with abilities. She fell (metaphorically speaking), and instead of the traditional story in which the girl would become the hero, she spirals into possible villainhood (is that a word? I’m going to make it a word). This series is very dark, but very captivating and thrilling, and I just physically could not put down the first book, which makes me so excited for this book!

The next book I want to read is Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

18584855

This is a standalone novel that I did start, but I stopped reading it after about fifty or so pages because I just wasn’t in the right mood to tackle this book, and I don’t think I was in the right mindset at the time, so I stopped reading it. I was planning on reading it in December in the first place, so I think I am just going to stick with that. If you aren’t aware, this is a book that is a prequel to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. This is really the Queen of Hearts’ origin story. It tells how she became the Queen of Hearts. I have been super interested in this ever since it came out, but since Alice In Wonderland is so precious and important to me, I have to be in the best mindset and be able to just sit down and read it. Which is why it would be better to read it this month. I am so excited to read it!

The next book I want to read is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

22299763

This book has been on my TBR ever since I got it on release day back in September and I am so ashamed that I haven’t allowed myself to read this. Its the finale of the whole series and I love the series so much that I am just so terrified of how things will turn out, which is why I have just not read it. But I will read this book. I will read it if its the last thing I do! But hopefully that’s not the case because imagine how many fantastic books I would miss out on…This isn’t even a joke. I have gotten in a car accident consecutively for the past three years on the same day right around Christmas and my birthday. The struggle is real. If you don’t know anything about this series, first of all, where have you been? Or have you just been ignoring my raving? This is a series that is centered around a kickass cast of characters, an intricate and badass plot, and amazing writing. But I definitely will be getting to this book this month, and I definitely will be avoiding cars as well.

The next book I want to read is The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

27904311

I don’t have a good excuse as to why I haven’t read this yet. I have no excuse. I read about fifty or so pages of this book before I just stopped reading it. I think I might have gotten distracted by another book. But on the first page, I was laughing out loud just by the first sentence. This book is hysterical and I know it will make me happy if I read it and probably wreck me at some point, but I really just want to get to this book. Its the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series, if you aren’t aware, and it focuses on a teenage boy named Magnus Chase (obviously) and it features badass characters, hilarious humor, and Norse Mythology. What part of that isn’t appealing? This is one of my favorite series of all time and I am so excited to finally get to this book!

And the final book I am going to be reading in December is Now I Know It’s Not My Fault by Laurie B. Levine.

32869318

This is a book that I was sent for review by the author and I am very excited to read it. This is going to be a powerful story, I can already tell, and that just makes me even more pumped to read it. This novel will be released on January 15, 2017, so keep your out for it, and it is a novel that is about trauma and its a subject that isn’t really talked about. I can’t tell what kind of trauma it is because the synopsis is pretty vague, but from what I can tell, its a novel that follows a teenage girl named Alexandra Geller who is having trouble at home, so she’s vulnerable and her science teacher, Paula, senses this vulnerability. She latches onto it and “befriends” Alex, leading her to believe it is a “mother-daughter” relationship when in reality, it soon becomes a student-teacher trauma bond that causes relationships in her life to crack under the pressure of that bond. It sounds very interesting and captivating and its a story that needs to be told, and I am very happy to have received a copy of this book because I can already tell its going to be a good one.

And there you have it! Those are all of the books I want to read in the month of December! What book are you most looking forward to reading in December? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

One thought on “December TBR

Leave a Reply

