Allie’s Accidental Black Friday Book Haul

Hey, guys! I assume you remember when I told you that I wasn’t going to be buying any books in November. And I totally intended to not buy any books this month. But then I went Black Friday shopping with my mom and grandma and I sort of bought ten books (They were on sale, so I think that’s okay…right?) and I was sent two books. This book haul is going to have twelve freaking books to haul. I can’t tell you the last time I had that many books to haul. And I swear it was an accident. I just sort of starting picking up books in the bargain store and before I knew it, I was holding ten books. But let’s just go ahead and get into this massive book haul!

The first book I received is The Rose Society by Marie Lu, and I was sent this kindly by Penguin Random House, so thank you for sending this to me!

23846013

This is the second book in The Young Elites trilogy, and I am so freaking excited to get into this! If you are not aware, this series tells the story of how a teenage girl who had powers fell and instead of the traditional story in which the girl would become the hero, she becomes the villainess. This series is so freaking great and mindblowing and holy hell, you need to read this if you have not. This story is very dark, but very thrilling and gripping and I am just so happy I got this book. The third and final book in the series just came out, The Midnight Star, and I am hoping I can get my hands on that one. Again, very excited to get to this one and I will probably end up taking a break from reading Heartless and end up reading this one. I highly, highly recommend you check out this series!

The next book I was sent is Now I Know It’s Not My Fault by Laurie B. Levine, and I was sent this by the author, so thank you, Laurie, for sending this my way!

32869318

This novel will be released on January 15, 2017, so keep your out for it, and it is a novel that is about trauma and its a subject that isn’t really talked about. I can’t tell what kind of trauma it is because the synopsis is pretty vague, but from what I can tell, its a novel that follows a teenage girl named Alexandra Geller who is having trouble at home, so she’s vulnerable and her science teacher, Paula, senses this vulnerability. She latches onto it and “befriends” Alex, leading her to believe it is a “mother-daughter” relationship when in reality, it soon becomes a student-teacher trauma bond that causes relationships in her life to crack under the pressure of that bond. This sounds super interesting and like it will be a very powerful story. I will be getting to this book soon and will have a spoiler-free review up, so stay tuned for that!

The next book is one that I bought and it is Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes.

17342700

This is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series and I am very excited to read this, you know, eventually. I have only read the first book in the series, but it was epic and mind-blowing and I really, really enjoyed it! (I swear I will be posting the review sometime. I just don’t have time to sit down and work on it…) This is a high fantasy series that focuses on four people, royals and rebels alike, who are key players in a war who find their fates intertwined. Magnus, Cleo, Lucia, and Jonas are caught in a world of betrayal, murder, alliances, and even love. Its honestly better to go into this blind, which is what I did, and I am so glad I knew nothing because it was fabulous and that just makes me excited to get to books 2 and 3. Hoping to get to this one soon!

The next book I bought is Half Bad by Sally Green.

18621194

This book was like two dollars and I had heard of it before, which was why I picked it up. I didn’t even read the back of it, so I literally know absolutely nothing about it. I don’t even know what genre this book is. The cover was also a little bit captivating and it drew me to it, so I just went ahead and bought it. I think this might be about witches, though. I just read the back of it, so this actually sounds right up my alley, so I will be getting to this some time, though probably not until 2017 because I have way too many books on my TBR right now. But yeah, I am super excited to get to this!

The next book I bought is Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King.

21558901

I mostly bought this because I promises my best friend I would read more Stephen King novels and this was like four dollars, so I went ahead and bought it. This is a mystery, it seems like it has some horror elements (which I was expecting; he is the King of Horror after all), and it might be a bit of a thriller. It looks like it will have some interesting combinations of things I enjoy in books, and I am very excited to get to it some time in the future!

The next book I bought is City of Bones by Cassandra Clare.

24885537

This is the paperback edition of the new covers of The Mortal Instruments series, and I bought it because I am trying to build up my collection of these novels. This was like two dollars, so I bought it, and I am not ashamed because this cover is gorgeous. I love this cover, despite the end of it being cut off (I hate this fad that they have been doing with paperbacks. Its so annoying and I freaking hate it). I am very happy to finally have this and I am hoping I can get the rest of the new covers soon. I currently own, in addition to this one, City of Ashes, City of Glass, and City of Fallen Angels in these editions. I only own City of Bones, City of Lost Souls, and City of Heavenly Fire in the original editions, so hopefully I will get the rest of the series in the original covers as well.

The next book I bought is The Innocents by Lili Peloquin.

13513071

The synopsis doesn’t tell me shit about this book, so I know nothing about it other than it involves two sisters, apparently a ton of romance, and its a gothic mystery book. I am pretty sure its a series, and I can’t tell you anymore than that because I have never heard of this before, so I might get to this some time or I might not. I am actually debating on making this a Christmas present for a friend…

The next book I bought is Waterfall by Lauren Kate.

19401029

I am just now realizing this is the second book in the Tear Drop series, so I can’t say anything about it because I don’t own and have not read the first book. I know its a series that I have been interested in reading, but just haven’t yet. I won’t be getting to this any time soon, but I hopefully will be getting to the first book in the near future.

The next book I bought is Zodiac by Romina Russell.

20821306

I can honestly tell you the only reason I bought this is because the cover is freaking gorgeous and I am in love with it. But after buying it, I actually read the back of it and it sounds super interesting. Now I don’t believe in the Zodiac signs predicting your future or whatever, but this plot line sounds extremely interesting to me. From what I can gather, it is a science fiction and maybe even a little bit of a fantasy novel that follows a girl named Rho who belongs to the House Cancer and is named the new House Leader. When a freak catastrophe attacks the moons surrounding her planet and then more attacks on other planets start occurring she notices a pattern in which it looks like Ophiuchus, the exiled Thirteenth Guardian of the Zodiac, may be responsible. You know the drill. She gets some friends together and they are going to try to stop him. This sounds so interesting, and I am super excited to get to this soonish.

The next book I bought is Venom by Fiona Paul.

9999795

I am not going to lie, this a book I bought solely because of the cover. Its gorgeous, and I have wanted to get this for a while because of how pretty the cover is. This book is set in Renaissance Venice, Italy from what I can tell, and it follows a girl named Cassandra Caravello who is one of the elites in this time and she enjoys living in luxury, that is until she stumbles upon a murdered woman. That’s all I am going to say about it because I am very interested in this book. I am interested in reading about Renaissance, Italy, and this sounds very interesting, so I am hoping I will get to it soon.

The next book I bought is The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith.

18214414

This is the second book in the Cormoran Strike series by an author you may know, J. K. Rowling, who is writing under a pseudonym. I have the first book, The Cuckoo’s Calling, but I haven’t read it yet. I am hoping I will read it soon, but who knows? I know nothing about this series, but I have heard pretty good things about it, so I am excited to get to it eventually!

And the last book that I bought is Revival by Stephen King.

20926278

This is another novel I bought because its Stephen King, but from what I can gather, this book is about addiction, the dangers of obsessive religion, and I think this is a horror novel. I know nothing else about it, but I am hoping to get to this one soon. If I do end up picking up a Stephen King novel, this will be the first one that I read!

And there you have it! Those were all of the books that I bought and received in the month of November. What was your favorite book that you bought this month? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

