My Favorite Bookish Besties!

Hey, guys! Today is my best friend’s nineteenth birthday (her name’s Emily, by the way), so to celebrate I thought I would make a post about my favorite bookish friendships! Personally, I always gravitate more towards a book that is centered around friendship than romance. I always love reading books where the friendship is the main relationship while the romance is a sort of side relationship when it is usually reversed in Young Adult literature. These are in no particular order, so let’s go ahead and get into it!

The first bookish friendship to come to mind is the one displayed in Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson.

18189606

This is a contemporary novel centered around a young teenager named Emily who wakes up one day to find her best friend, Sloan, just gone. Sloan left behind a list of things for Emily to do throughout the summer, all things she would never normally even attempt. Thinking doing them will lead her to Sloan, she starts working on everything on the list. This is one of my personal favorite books of all time because of the strong theme of friendship. All Emily wants is her best friend back and through her, we get to know Sloan and how much of a great friend she was to Emily and Emily to her. This book is completely centered on their friendship and that’s what made me love it so much. Its one of my favorite bookish friendships I have ever read about!

The next bookish friendship that I personally connected to was the friendship between Cath and her roommate, Reagan, in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell.

16068905

In this novel, we follow Cather Avery, an introverted girl who is going to college without the support of her twin sister, Wren. Her sister wants to do her own thing, so Cath now has a roommate, Reagan. Cath really doesn’t talk to Reagan or acknowledge her existence. All she does is have anxiety about being at college and work on her fan fiction inspired by her favorite book series ever, Simon Snow. Throughout the course of this novel, Cath really becomes more comfortable with herself and her surroundings and that is pretty much all because of Reagan. While their friendship is not the main focus of this book, it definitely felt prominent in the novel and in a lot of ways, it reminded me of my friendship with Emily.

Reagan is the reason Cath actually got out of her dorm room and did things. Cath was totally content with eating granola bars for the rest of the year, but Reagan forced her to go to the cafeteria and even go to a couple of parties. Reagan was the outgoing one and she forced an introverted Cath to have fun, meet new people, and not be so terrified of everyone. I personally connect to this friendship because I am the introverted one in my first year of college with Emily and she is the more outgoing of the two of us and really forced me to get out of my comfort zone and do things this semester. The friendship displayed in this novel is one of the many reasons it is my favorite book of all time!

The next bookish friendship I love so much is the one displayed in Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.

17167166

This is the second novel in the Throne of Glass series, so I can’t tell you what its about, but I am in love with the friendship displayed in this novel between Nehemia and Celaena. Celaena in general is not very warm and fuzzy and is super hard to get close to, but Nehemia knocks down her walls and Celaena ends up getting very close to her. You know the phrase, “opposites attract”? That’s these two. Where Nehemia is Fire, Celaena is Ice. Nehemia is so warm and understanding and doesn’t lose interest two seconds after Celaena is speaking. She really ends up helping Celaena with some issues she has and the unique and unlikely friendship these two display ended up being one of my favorite things about this novel.

The next friendship that I am in love with is the friendship between three unique characters from Harry Potter by J. K. Rowling.

harry-potter-1

This series is one of the most renowned book series in the world and one of the main reasons people always come back to it again and again is largely in part to the friendship displayed between Harry, Ron, and Hermione. They are all relatable and funny and just really warm (most of the time) to each other. Do they fight? Yes, they do. That’s one of the many reasons they are realistic in their friendship. They all need each other and many people never thought Harry would ever be friends with someone who is not one of the more rich wizards. No one would have ever thought these three would be friends and the stength of their friendship is what made each of them stronger and that is friendship. True friendship makes you stronger and that is one of the many reasons I love this series so much.

And the last bookish friendship that really comes to my mind is the friendship between Clary Fray and Isabelle Lightwood in The Moral Instruments series by Cassandra Clare.

256683

This is a book series that is set in New York and follows a girl named Clary who upon her mother’s disappearance, stumbles upon the Shadow World and learns she is a Shadowhunter, a demon hunter. This series is one of my favorite series of all time and one of the main reasons is the friendships and relationships that develop over the course of the series. Clary and Isabelle are both girls who could not be more different. Clary doesn’t really care about fashion or anything girly in that sense while Isabelle loves clothes. They end up bonding and becoming really close as the series goes along and it came to the point that I thought they would become parabatai (its a bond closer than friendship, so they would have been practically sisters), but alas, that didn’t happen. I love it so much because its a friendship that develops and still has trials and they would still fight, but in the end, they always had each others’ backs and that was really inspiring for me and it definitely influenced my own friendships and how I viewed friendships.

There you have it! Those were five of my favorite bookish friendships. I am sure there are more, but these are the five that immediately came to mind. What is your favorite bookish friendship? Comment down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

