Science-Fiction Recommendations

Hey, guys! One of my favorite genres is Science Fiction and I found it hard to believe I actually hadn’t already made this post. So here we are! I love learning about scientific concepts in relation to fiction and how some stories toe the line between Science Fiction and Fantasy. It is just so fascinating to me and very captivating. But let’s just go ahead and get into the recommendations!

The first book you should consider reading in this genre is The Martian by Andy Weir.

20829029

This is a standalone novel and it is probably one of the funniest books I have ever read. In this story, we follow a botanist/astronaut named Mark Watney who goes to Mars with the fellow members of his crew, he is left there when they believe him dead in the middle of a huge dust storm. Alone on Mars, he is forced to do whatever he possibly can to survive. Now that sounds menacing, but I am telling you that it was absolutely hilarious. Mark is witty, sarcastic, sassy and smart as hell. However, nothing really went over my head. This novel has more of a science aspect to it than any other science fiction novel I have ever read. It was so good and I highly recommend it!

The next book you should check out is Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

12578077

This is the first book in a five book series (the Lux series) that centers around a teenage girl named Katy Swartz (who is a book blogger and general book lover!) who moves to this tiny town in West Virginia and ends up living next door to this hot, arrogant, stab-worthy alien named Daemon Black. Some shit goes down, there are steamy moments, action, and a whole lot of sass. This series is freaking great and amazing and one of my favorite series of all time!! Highly recommended.

The next book you definitely should read is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

23395680

This is the first book in the Illuminae Files series and it is one of my favorite books that I read this year. In this book, we follow two characters named Kady and Ezra who are trying to escape this terrorist attack on their planet. They also just broke up, as in they were dating. That’s all I can say without spoiling you, but this book is completely unique to any book I have ever read. The story is told through surveillance footage, IMs, emails, and files and it so damn good. This story is action-packed, thrilling, fast-paced, and just fantabulous. I highly, highly recommend that you pick this one up because it is fantastic!

The next book you should considering reading is The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey.

16101128

This is the first book in The 5th Wave series and this book surprised me with how much I ended up enjoying it. While it took me forever and a year to finish it, I did really enjoy it once I reflected on it and I really appreciated its worth and the story Rick brought to life. In this book, we follow a girl named Cassie Sullivan, a sixteen year old girl who is running away from the Others and toward her little brother because he is in danger during this harrowing time that an alien invasion has come upon their planet, and it happens in waves. Wave 1: Darkness, Wave 2: Mass Destruction, Wave 3: Disease, Wave 4: Silencers. This book, while intense, is hilarious at various times, has a bit of sass, is action-packed, thrilling, and so incredibly real, you almost believe its actually happening. This book will always hold a special place in my heart and I highly recommend it!

And the last book I recommend you read in the genre of Science-Fiction is Cinder by Marissa Meyer.

419rjqnqyhl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Don’t judge this book by its cover because it is so damn good. This is the first book in the Lunar Chronicles series and this is a fairy tale retelling. Obviously you can tell its a retelling of Cinderella from the cover, but it has a unique twist. In this case, the princess is a cyborg. Please don’t judge it by that because that is what originally made me apprehensive about it, but this book is epic and amazing and thrilling and so many other amazing things. This series is one of my all time favorite ones and I highly, highly recommend you pick this one up because its a good one!

But there you have it! Those are my recommendations for the genre of Science-Fiction. What’s your favorite Science-Fiction novel? Of these five, I think its a tie between Cinder and Illuminae for me! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

