Five Books That Took Me By Surprise

Hey, guys! Today we are going to be discussing five books I did not expect to love as much as I did. Its not that I expected to hate these books, but I just picked some of these up on a whim while others I knew absolutely nothing about the plot and it just surprised me with how much I ended up loving them. I really enjoyed all of these and definitely recommend them! But let’s just go ahead and get into the books!

The first book I didn’t expect to love is Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs.

missperegrine2527shomeforpeculiarchildren

This book was one I hadn’t heard much buzz about at the time (I later started noticing a crap ton of buzz about this book). I just knew it had a weird cover and when I flipped through the book, I noticed there were these odd pictures. I always just kept putting off reading this book until finally I had no excuse left so I picked up the book and instantly fell in love with it. In this book, we follow a boy named Jacob who after a horrific tragedy, follows a set of clues to an island to an old orphanage. And that’s all I can say without spoiling it. I loved the characters, the writing, the world, and just how complex everything was with this novel. Also, the pictures just added such a great element to the story and I am so glad I busted my butt and finally read this baby because it was a good one.

The second book that surprised me is The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin.

11408650

This was a book I had been meaning to read for forever because I heard it was super creepy and I was all for reading a book that was creepy. I for some reason didn’t get around to reading it until earlier this year and I freaking devoured it. This story follows Mara Dyer (obviously) who wakes up in the hospital with no recollection how how she got there. She is trying to figure out what exactly happened and just trying to reclaim her memories. That description sounds innocent enough, but this book is creepy. Mara is an unreliable narrator, so you never know if what is happening is actually real. It was so captivating, so thrilling and such a fantastic story. I read it in like a day. The story line is epic and thrilling, the characters are freaking badass and the writing was deliciously creepy. I really enjoyed this, so I highly recommend you give this one a go, especially around Halloween.

The third book that caught me by surprise is Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo.

23437156

I read this before everyone started losing their shit over how fantastic this book is, so I hadn’t heard much, but I had heard that people were liking it. I had read her Grisha Trilogy, which was good, but wasn’t mind-blowing. This was mind-blowing. This was pretty much the whole package. You have a beautifully dangerous and complex world, freaking gorgeous writing, and a set of kickass, complex characters. What more could you want? In this story, we follow six characters who are all trying to pull off this impossible heist in the safest facility in the world. There is love, danger, general badassery and kickass characters. Seriously. Why haven’t you read this yet? Highly recommend!

The fourth book that blew me away is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

9781619634473

This is the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series and it blew my socks off. I knew I wanted to read it because I really enjoyed A Court of Thorns and Roses, but I never knew to what lengths this book would gain my love and affection. In this series, we follow a Huntress named Feyre who is hunting in the woods when she kills a wolf that was a Fae. Facing death, a Fae decides to take her as his prisoner (sort of) rather than kill her. And the story takes off from there. This series is a series of retellings, so ACOTAR was a Beauty and the Beast retelling while ACOMAF was a retelling of Hades and Persephone. It was thrilling and sexy and amazing and beautiful and badass and just everything I want in a sequel. The stakes are risen so high in this book and if you haven’t continued after ACOTAR, I highly recommend that you do because this ended up being my favorite book that I read this year.

And the fifth and final book that completely took me by surprise and blew my mind is Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

23395680

This is a book that sounded cool, but I never thought I would actually read. If you are not aware, this a book that is told through emails and files and IMs and it is so good. I can’t really say anything about this novel without spoiling anything other than it has a kickass and creepy plot line, badass characters and a freaking amazing and complex format. I didn’t even realize it until I was deep into the story how invested I was so when certain things happened, I was breaking down and in certain parts, I was so creeped out and scared that I had to stop to breathe. This story is action-packed from start to finish and if you haven’t read this yet, you definitely should! Its a rollercoaster ride that never ends!

But there you have it! Those were the books that took me most by surprise! What books blew your mind when you least expected it? Tell me down below! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

3 thoughts on “Five Books That Took Me By Surprise

Leave a Reply

