Books I Want to Read Before 2017

Hey, guys! Today we are going to be discussing the books I have to get to before 2016 is over! There are actually a lot I want to get to, but these are the ones that are sticking out to me the most. I am actually kind of anticipating the end of this year. I just want to be done with this year so I can move on with better things and just get on with my life. I hear a lot of people have been feeling the same way. I also really want to get to some January releases, but that’s another discussion for another time. Let’s get into the books!

The first book I want to try to read is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

22299763

This is the second and final book in the Six of Crows duology and I have heard nothing but fantastic reviews about it. It sounds so kickass and I have been kicking my ass for not having read this yet! I got this around when it came out, but haven’t had the time to read it yet! If you aren’t aware, Six of Crows is centered around a kickass cast of characters set in the Grisha world, the same world as Leigh’s Grisha Trilogy. There is crime, violence, magic, and a huge heist. What more could you want? After that ending with Six of Crows, this book has just made it high on my to-read list. So excited to get to this!

The next book I want to try to read is The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan.

27904311This is the second book in the Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard series and I need to read this. I have started this, but I am not very far into it at all, but it is so good. I just know that I am going to love it, so I need to just read it. I have to. In the first book, The Sword of Summer, we follow Magnus Chase (obviously), a kid who is homeless and living on the streets of Boston. He is found by the man his mother said to stay away from because he is dangerous and Magnus comes to find out that he (meaning Magnus) is the son of a Norse god. This series is hilarious, action-packed, thrilling and just generally awesome. I love this series so much more than the Percy Jackson series and I highly recommend that you pick up these awesome books. And then we can discuss this book together!

The next book I want to try to read is Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas.

18006496This is the fourth book in the Throne of Glass series and man I really need to read this. I have been putting this off and putting this off for months and I need to just go ahead and read it! The size of this book really intimidates me. I am terrified of this book. I know it is going to break me. But I am still so freaking excited to read this. If you aren’t aware, the first book, Throne of Glass, follows a teen assassin named Celaena Sardothien who is pulled from the slave mine, Endovier, and put into a competition with other assassins, thieves and the like to become the King’s champion, meaning his own personal assassin. The story is kickass and action-packed and freaking amazing. Highly recommend this series! I just need to stop putting this off and just go ahead and read it.

The next book I want to try to read is The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan.

9304942

This is the last book in the Percy Jackson and the Olympians series and this is another book I have been putting off for forever. I don’t know why I haven’t read this yet. It is the conclusion to the series and I know it is going to be epic and mind-blowing and Percabeth will probably be a major thing and I really need to read this. I just have a problem with finishing series apparently. In this series, we follow Percy Jackson, a young boy who after his life gets in great danger, goes to the safest place on Earth, Camp Halfblood. This series is action-packed, funny, kickass and just in general awesome. If you haven’t read this series yet, you definitely should. Hopefully I will read this before the end of the year!

And the final book I plan on reading in 2017 is Heartless by Marissa Meyer.

18584855

This is a standalone novel that Marissa Meyer, who wrote the fantabulous Lunar Chronicles series, about the Queen of Hearts from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll. If you aren’t aware, I am a huge fan of Alice in Wonderland. So when I learned that was the November theme for Owlcrate’s subscription box (meaning Alice in Wonderland), I immediately went and ordered it, my first subscription! (It is my Christmas present for myself). Also, this box is going to have an exclusive cover for the book that you can’t find anywhere else (of course they don’t tell us what book, but a book that has something to do with Alice in Wonderland that is going to be released in November. What else could it be?) Heartless is a retelling and it is supposed to be dark, my favorite kind. I just can’t express how excited I am for this book. Since The Lunar Chronicles was so amazing, I know this is going to be a killer story. This is going to be released on November 8, so if you don’t get the Owlcrate box, you definitely should buy this and devour it like I am going to!

But there you have it! Those are the books I am going to try to read before the ball drops on New Year’s Eve. What is your most anticipated read for the year so far? Obviously, mine is Heartless. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

2 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read Before 2017

Leave a Reply

