October Wrap Up!

Hello! I actually managed to pull myself away from Netflix and I read some good books this month. I actually managed to read seven books this month, which I am actually super proud of. Though I do mourn the days when I could read 8-10 books in a month (those were the days when I could sneeze and pass my high school classes; I spent the majority of the time reading rather than listening to my teacher). I actually really enjoyed all of the books I read this month, and I am really excited to talk about them, so let’s get into it.

The first book that I read this month was The Assassin and the Empire by Sarah J. Maas.

13565676

This is the last novella in The Assassin’s Blade bind up and I really enjoyed this. It is a continuation of the rest of the novellas, which I highly recommend you check out. These are all prequel novellas to the Throne of Glass series. This definitely was not my favorite in the series, but it was still really good. I liked all of the character development we saw, the overall storyline, and the writing, per the usual. I ended up giving this 4/5 hearts and my review is also up.

The second book I read was The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson.

17838528

I finally finished it, guys! I was supposed to read this for a readathon back in August, but that’s when my reading slump hit me and I never finished it. But I knew I had to finish this now or I never would. And I completely loved it. I loved all of the characters and the story line and friendship and romance and it was just so good. This is my second favorite book that she’s ever written, my first being Since You’ve Been Gone. In this novel, we follow Andie Walker who is the daughter of a pretty important congressman. Because of this, she pretty much has her entire life mapped out, but that goes on hold when her dad becomes involved in a scandal. Her dad takes a break until the scandal blows over, so Andie does one thing she never thought she would do: she gets a job as a dog walker. And then she meets Clark. That’s all I am going to say without spoiling it. But Clark was definitely my favorite character that she’s ever written. He is nerdy, funny, caring, and just an all around great guy. I love him so much. I ended up giving this a 5/5 hearts and my spoiler-free review is also up, so you should check that out, if you would be interested in all my thoughts.

The next book that I read was The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

21469136

This is the first book in Marie’s Winner’s Trilogy and I really enjoyed this. This is a dystopian novel that follows Kestrel, the daughter of the General and she lives a privileged lifestyle. She is against slavery and despite being the General’s daughter, she can’t fight. One day, she wanders into the slave auctions by accident and impulsively buys the slave, Arin. And the story takes off from that. This book was very intriguing, complex, and just really good. It surprised me with how much I ended up liking it. I ended up giving this a 4.5/5 hearts, and if you are interested in my spoiler-free thoughts on this, my review is up.

The next book that I read this month was Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

29236299

This is the second book in the Illuminae Files series and this book was freaking amazing. Like if I could have given this a 10/5 stars on Goodreads, I would have. Because this is a sequel, I can’t really tell you what it is about, but know that it is science fiction and it is the most unique book I have ever read. This series of books is written with files and IMs and emails and journal entries…It is just so cool and so fun to read. I also read this before and during Dewey’s Twenty Four Hour Readathon and finished it. I ended up giving this 5/5 hearts.

The next book I read this month was Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

29056083

If you don’t know what this is, what rock did you crawl out from under? This is marketed as the eighth Harry Potter book, though I disagree because its a play and it wasn’t really centered around himself. I also read this for Dewey’s Twenty Four Hour Readathon. In this book, we follow Albus Severus Potter, a moody teenage boy who despises everyone except his best friend, Scorpius. They both do stupid shit that puts their life in danger and just in general, this book taught me that teenage boys are freaking idiots. I don’t want to say too much about this, but I was pretty on the fence about it upon completing it. I liked things and I didn’t like things. I have very mixed feelings about it. I ended up giving it 3.5/5 hearts and if you are interested in knowing my thoughts, opinions, and feels, you definitely should check out my review.

The next book I read was Oblivion by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

25946985

This is a companion to the Lux series, a book series centered around aliens and romance and sass and general badassery. In this companion, we get Daemon’s perspective in the story. If you get the print version, you only get the first book in his POV, but if you get the ebook version (which I did), then you get the first three books in his perspective and I am so glad I did. It was so cool to see his perspective on everything. It really gave us a more well-rounded view of the story and what really went down. It was super satisfying and I really enjoyed it. I definitely recommend you read this if you enjoyed the Lux series. It was really good. I ended up giving it 4.5/5 hearts.

And the last book I read this month was The Man That Corrupted Hadleyburg by Mark Twain.

6309379

This is the first and only work I have ever read by Mark Twain and I wasn’t too impressed with it. This is a short story I had to read for my English Composition class at the University and it was definitely different. In this story, we follow a man whose name we don’t know that apparently got offended by someone in this town called Hadleyburg, which is apparently the most incorruptible town in existence. This man, filled with bitterness and loathing, decides to corrupt the incorruptible town by using letters and money to tempt even the most sanctimonious of residents. I had problems with the writing style and on telling who was speaking in this story at times, even if it did have a good message on greed and corruption. I ended up giving it 3/5 hearts.

And there you have it! That was my October Wrap up! I am very satisfied with the turn around I have had this month with the amount that I read. I ended up reading seven books this month! I am officially out of my reading slump and it feels so great to be free of that awful three month long slump. What are you currently reading? I am currently reading two books, I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou (so good!) and The Hammer of Thor by Rick Riordan. I am really enjoying the both of them. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

