Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon TBR

Hello! Its that time of year again! Time to do Dewey’s 24-Hour Readathon. I had such a fun time participating last time I did the readathon and I ended up reading a lot of books, so I am very excited about this. If you aren’t aware, this is a readathon in which you try to read as many books as possible in a twenty four hour period. Its a lot of fun, and if this sounds like something you would be interested in participating in, I encourage you to do so. It starts on October 22 at 8:00 AM for my time zone, but here is the link for the rest of the time zones. This is pretty last minute for me, but let’s get into the books I am going to try to read in the readathon!

The first book in my TBR pile is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

29056083

I have been meaning to pick this book for forever and it is pretty short, so I am sure I can knock this one out. Unless I am mistaken, this story takes place nineteen years after the events of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I have heard pretty mixed reviews regarding everyone’s thoughts on this book, so I am curious as to what I will think of it. Super excited to get to this one!

And the next book I want to try to read is I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou.

5081331

This is a book I need to read for my English Composition class at the University. I need to have it completely read by October 31, so this will help me knock it out. It is actually pretty short and I wouldn’t say it is difficult to read for me. From what I can tell, it follows Maya as she is sent away when her parents divorce with her brother, Bailey, to live with their Grandmother in a small southern town. I know this is a powerful story and a true one, so I am very excited to see how this book tells her life story. I am actually around 50 pages into it already and it is really good.

And the final book I am going to try to read is Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff.

29236299

This is the second book in the Illuminae Files series and I am so excited for this. It was released on October 18, and it is probably one of my most anticipated releases of this year. If you don’t know, I really enjoyed Illuminae, the first book, and it is definitely one of my favorite books of this year. This series of books is uniquely told through files and texts and emails and it is so freaking good. You think those things might hinder the reading experience, but no. These are some of the coolest books I have ever read and I am so freaking excited to see where the story is taken in this book because we follow a different cast of characters. It definitely intrigues me and I don’t care that this book is close to 700 pages. I am going to devour this during the readathon and probably some after.

Those were all the books I am going to try to read during this readathon! If you want to keep up with what I am reading during the readathon, I will be moderately active on Twitter, Instagram and Goodreads. I am also going to be participating in Make A Difference Day 2016 on this same day, so it will be interesting to see how much I read. Do you plan on participating? I definitely recommend that you do, and if you are, and your TBR is posted, link it down below! I would love to check out what you plan on reading. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

Leave a Reply

