Book Review: “The Unexpected Everything” by Morgan Matson | Spoiler-Free

Hello! Today we will be discussing The Unexpected Everything and I really enjoyed this. I know people have been raving about this book, but I had no idea I would enjoy it quite as much as I did. Granted my favorite book by Morgan Matson is still Since You’ve Been Gone, this is a pretty close second. I loved it. The characters were probably my favorite part about this book. But before I get more into my thoughts, let’s just get into the review!

Synopsis:

“Andie had it all planned out.

When you are a politician’s daughter who’s pretty much raised yourself, you learn everything can be planned or spun, or both. Especially your future.

Important internship? Check.

Amazing friends? Check.

Guys? Check (as long as we’re talking no more than three weeks).

But that was before the scandal. Before having to be in the same house with her dad. Before walking an insane number of dogs. That was before Clark and those few months that might change her whole life.

Because here’s the thing—if everything’s planned out, you can never find the unexpected.

And where’s the fun in that?”

My Thoughts:

Wow, this book messed with my feels. I really loved all of the characters. They were all so unique and really rang the bell with my high school friends. The character development was so prevalent in this story, especially with Andie. She was afraid of getting hurt, so she never let herself get too close to someone (meaning dating). I can relate to this, though I have never practiced it. I really ended up liking her dad and oh my gosh Clark. He is my favorite male character Morgan has ever written! He was nerdy, funny, caring, and just an all around great guy! I shipped him and Andie so hard.

I knew something bad would happen, so I was trying to gear myself up for it, but it didn’t help. I ended up crying twice while reading this! I am just glad that most of everything worked out in the end. It really upset me when something didn’t work out because of a similar situation that happened in my own life (if you’ve read the book, you know what I am talking about). Anyway, I ended up really liking the story line and the theme of friendship. I liked all of the characters that were introduced, and the writing was on point. This book was just fabulous and I really enjoyed it, even if it did cause me minor emotional trauma.

9
5/5 hearts

And that is going to be the end of this review. What is your favorite thing about reading contemporaries? I just love the magical, but also realistic feel to them. This situation could happen, but the romance is also very magical. But that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

One thought on “Book Review: “The Unexpected Everything” by Morgan Matson | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

