October TBR

 

Hello! Its finally October! As many people in my dorm at college say, its the start of Halloween! I honestly wouldn’t know because I have never celebrated Halloween due to superstitious parents. Nevertheless, I usually try to read one book with horror elements in it. But let’s get in the books I plan on reading this month!

The first book I want to try to get to this month is The Assassin and the Empire by Sarah J. Maas.

13565676

This is the fifth book in the bind up The Assassin’s Blade, and I really need to read this. I have been wanting to finish those novellas, but for some reason I have no motivation to read it. I can’t read Queen of Shadows until I read this, which means I can’t buy Empire of Storms. I can’t buy that book until I read QOS. I just wish I had the motivation to read. Instead of reading, I have been rewatching The Vampire Diaries on Netflix. I feel the shame!

The next book I want to read this month is The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski.

21469136

This is the first book in The Winner’s Trilogy, and I have started this book, but I stopped reading it after 122 pages. Reading Slumps suck. But this is a dystopian novel and our main protagonist, Kestrel, is the general’s daughter who is a terrible fighter, but amazing musician who impulsively binds a slave, Arin, to her. That’s all I can say without spoiling you, but I have loved it so far and am pretty upset with myself for not finishing this. Also, can we just sit back and admire this gorgeous cover? It is so beautiful! Not going to lie, that was 95% of the reason I bought this book…

The next book I want to try to get to is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J. K. Rowling, John Tiffany and Jack Thorne.

29056083

Everyone on heaven and earth knows what this book is and seems to have a different opinion on it. From what I can gather, you either hate this book or you love it. There is no in between. I am very curious as to why so many people have different opinions on it, but I think I will be okay with it just because I am not viewing it as the eighth Harry Potter book. They should not have marketed it as such, which is why so many people have a problem with it, I think. But I guess we will see what I think of it.

And the final book I am going to try to read this month is The Diviners by Libba Bray.

85786e92e4151373f8599e31621e32b9

I’ve been trying to get myself to finish this book all year and it hasn’t happened yet, so I am going to audiobook this. I am reading this in the spirit of Halloween, since it is a pretty dark book, I’ve been told, and from what I remember, parts of this creeped me the eff out. This is set in 1920’s New York and it deals with murder and mayhem and magic and fantasy and action and WHY HAVEN’T I READ THIS YET. It sounds right up my alley! *frustrated Allie noises* I am very excited to try to complete this.

And that is it. Those are the books I plan on reading this month! What book are you most excited to get to on your own TBR this month? I am very excited to finish The Winner’s Curse. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

