I Am the Reader Book Tag!

Hello! Today I coming to you guys with a book tag that was actually created by Penguin Random House to celebrate the release of The Reader by Traci Chee, which came out on September 13. The book will definitely be out by the time this post is up, so you should definitely check it out. Its a book about this girl who flees with her aunt after her father is brutally murdered. Her aunt teaches her survival skills, but when she is kidnapped, the girl, Sefia, discovers something her father left behind, something she comes to realize is a book. The society she is a part of is completely illiterate and this book is the key to finding out how to rescue her aunt and figure out what really happened the night her father was murdered. This sounds super interesting and complex and I will definitely be picking this one up soon. Let’s go ahead and get into the questions!

1: Choose one word to describe being a reader.

This is actually a really difficult question for me, but the first word to pop into my head is Wanderer. I believe that all readers are wonderers. We all want to travel to the beautiful places we read about in books. Our eyes are full of wonder of the worlds we only wish were real. We wonder and we look at things differently, more differently than anyone else on the planet! We as readers experience the world in a way that those that don’t read do not. I feel like reading just give us a sense of wonderment that everyone else misses out on.

2: What is the very first book you fell in love with?

While I have read a ton of books, especially when I was younger, the first book series that really made me love reading and fall in love with reading as a kid was Maximum Ride by James Patterson. I wasn’t allowed to read Harry Potter growing up, so I ended up reading this series instead and I fell in love with it. I loved the story and fantasy / science fiction elements to it. I just fell in love with the characters and this really gave me the sense of loving reading and enjoying falling in love with worlds that this writer created. It just gave me a sense of wonderment and lead to me becoming a huge book freak!

3: Hardcover or paperback?

This is probably shocking to those who have seen my bookshelf. I have so many more paperbacks than I do hardcovers, but I actually do prefer hardcovers. Paperbacks are so much cheaper, which is why I buy them, but I definitely prefer hardcovers because they are so much more durable, they stay open much easier, and they are just much more visually pleasing to me, especially on my bookshelf.

4: How has reading shaped your identity?

This is such a complex question; I could create an entire post about this! But I honestly do not know where I would be without reading. I would not have the friends that I do. I would not be studying for the career that I am. I wouldn’t be the same person. I have no idea who I would be. I would be completely different because reading really has shaped my entire world. It has changed my life. I don’t really want to know who I would be without reading because she would not be someone that I would want to be, I can promise you that. Reading has always been my escape from the difficulties in my life. Reading is my identity, honestly.

5: What book do you go to when you need to be comforted?

I’m sure you all know this answer, but how could I choose anything except Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell? When I am feeling crappy and depressed, I read this book. It always makes me feel better and always grounds me and brings me back to myself and who I am. Cath is such a reflection of me and that is how this book always comforts me and brings me back to the here and now, to myself.

6: Who taught you to be a reader?

For me, this is many people, but the person that I definitely remember encouraging me the most to read is my grandmother (Mawmaw, as I call her). She is the reason I got back into reading. I stopped reading until about the seventh grade when she told me to read Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (which not only got me back into reading but also got me into the genre of YA) because she really enjoyed it. So I did. And that is how I got officially back into reading and haven’t stopped for more than a few months at a time (reading slumps are a bitch) since then. She is always recommending books to me and encouraging me to keep reading and to keep writing, and she is just such an inspiration to me. I love her to death!

7: Describe your dream reading lounge.

Okay, I’ve thought about this a lot. I want a separate room in my own house where I have bookshelves galore, but inside that room, there is a bookshelf that when you pull out the correct book spine, it opens up and there is my secret, huge bookish lounge. In this lounge, there are tons of bookshelves, there are the most comfortable couches in the world, and to get from bookshelf to bookshelf, there is a library ladder (like from Beauty and the Beast) that will take me up and down shelves and that is super fun and is really fast. There is also a slide because I have a balcony and need to get down to the shelves and…can you tell how much I’ve thought about this? I’ll just stop there before I get too carried away, but this is my dream. It will be real when I have enough money.

7: What book made you change the way you see the world?

There are so many book that have influenced how I see the world, but the one that really sticks out to me is Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens. This is a book that not many people can read because it explicitly deals with self harm and depression and rape. This book changed my perspective on rape. Most people see a rapist as a man who jumps out from the dark and rapes you, someone you don’t know, a stranger. Which is true, some rapists are strangers, but most of them are people you know. This just really shed a light on that as well as depression, which I personally have dealt with and am dealing with. It deals with self harm without the use of a blade. It sheds light on so many dark topics that no one wants to talk about and I think they should. This book just changed the way I look at everything and I think that everyone who can handle these topics should read this book.

8: Who do you tag?

I tag:

Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf

Jenna @ Reading With Jenna

Rachel @ Life of a Female Bibliophile

Emily @ Books & Cleverness

Celine @ Celine Reads

And that is the end of this tag. I encourage you all to participate in this! You’ll definitely have to comment the link to your post below if you decide to do this tag. What is one word to describe being a reader? Leave your answer in the comments below! Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it and I will see you next time.

sig

 

Leave a Reply

