Mid Year Book Freak Out!

Hello! So today I am going to be doing this book tag that I originally saw on Catriona (Little Book Owl)’s YouTube channel, so I will link her video here. It seemed like a lot of fun, so let’s get into it!

1: BEST BOOK YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

This is definitely Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This book is definitely probably my favorite one that Cassie has written and if you haven’t read this yet, what are you doing with your life? GO READ IT.

2: BEST SEQUEL YOU’VE READ SO FAR IN 2016

This is without a doubt A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

9781619634473

In the words of Sasha Alsberg, this book did not have the second book slump, but rather, it had the second book spunk! All of these characters go through a whole lot of character development, the story is kickass, and it deals with PTSD in a realistic way. This is another book that YOU HAVE TO READ.

3: NEW RELEASE YOU HAVEN’T READ YET, BUT WANT TO

This is a new release, but it isn’t super new. I am super excited to get into The Last Star by Rick Yancey.

16131489

This is the final book in The 5th Wave series and I am so freaking excited (and nervous) to see how this series comes to a close. There were so many revelations and mind-blowing truths that were revealed in The Infinite Sea, and it just makes me super excited to read this. Also, can we just sit and admire how great this cover is? It is definitely my favorite of the whole series!

 

4: MOST ANTICIPATED RELEASE FOR THE SECOND HALF OF THE YEAR

This was a toss up between two of my most anticipated releases of this year (one being Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas), but ultimately the one I am anticipating the most is Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo.

22299763

This is the second and final book to this amazing duology. It comes out September 27th and I am so freaking excited. I don’t care what I am doing. The second this baby releases, I am going to the bookstore and I am buying it. No question about it! The first book was amazing (and not just because the edges of the pages were black). It was such a kickass and complicated story. And this next book will have red edges to the pages! Yes, I am still freaking out about this book…I NEED IT NOW.

5: BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT

For this year, unfortunately, this for me was Me Before You by Jojo Moyes.

15507958

Don’t get me wrong. I did enjoy this book, but it definitely did not meet with the overwhelming amount of hype surrounding this book. To me, the romance didn’t feel realistic. I know that is only a small amount of this book, but it just didn’t feel real to me. If you want to know all of my thoughts, opinions, and feels, I will link my spoiler-free review here.

6: BIGGEST SURPRISE

This was definitely A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

17255435

This is the first book in a 25 book long paranormal series and I wasn’t expecting much from this book. My grandmother recommended I check this book out, so I did. And I freaking loved it. I loved the story line, the characters, the world, just everything about it. If you want to know all of my thoughts, opinions, and feels on this book, you should check out my review.

7: FAVORITE NEW AUTHOR (DEBUT OR NEW TO YOU)

Definitely Sarah J. Maas who authored the Throne of Glass series and the A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

throne-of-glass-cover

She is a new to me author and I instantly fell in love with her writing. Both of her series are phenomenal! I started reading TOG earlier this year and I fell in love with these books. One of my goals for this year is to actually read all of her books that she publishes (I even just secretly ordered Queen of Shadows which I have yet to read). If you haven’t read her books yet, I highly recommend that you do!

8: NEWEST FICTIONAL CRUSH

I know I’ve already used this book, but it is definitely Rhys from A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

9781619634473

I was not a Rhys shipper until this book. We really get to know him throughout the course of this novel. We learn why he does what he does. We really learn who he is as a person and how much he truly does care about Feyre and his people in general. He is the best and only choice for Feyre for a lot of spoilery reasons. I just really love his character and again, if you haven’t picked up this series yet, GO FREAKING READ IT.

9: NEWEST FAVORITE CHARACTER

I almost did another character from ACOMAF for this question. I could quite possibly answer every question with something from that book. But my new favorite character has got to be Emma Carstairs from Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare.

25494343

Emma is everything I wanted in a main lead character. She was kickass, but caring. She could kiss you or kill you, both options are viable. She is really relatable and it broke my heart how much she was trying to solve her parents’ murder. She is definitely my favorite character that Cassie has ever written!

10: BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY

I generally don’t cry. I am not a book crier. But this book just destroyed me. This sole spot is reserved for Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas.

17167166

This is the second book in the Throne of Glass series and I obviously cannot go into why it broke me and made me cry because spoilers, but I just didn’t see this thing that happened coming. And this thing that happened made me completely lose it during school. I was in the library, thankfully, but I went to Physics right after and people were staring at me and it was ugly crying too. All of my makeup came off in the not so pleasant way, especially since I was wearing liquid eyeliner. It just wasn’t pretty. And that was in February. I haven’t cried in a book since then.

11: BOOK THAT MADE YOU HAPPY

I can’t think of a book that made me happy throughout the entire thing. Even with fluffy contemporaries, I don’t stay happy the whole way through. Because the end of this book definitely messed with me. I couldn’t read anything for months after finishing this, but the book that really comes to mind for this is, ironically, The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

1645601_orig

This is the first book in Alex’s The Darkest Minds trilogy and this book just really made me happy with the road trip aspect of it and the friendships that our main character, Ruby, makes and builds as the book progresses, but even more than that is the relationship and love story between Ruby and Liam. They were very cute, but also, he was willing to do anything to save Ruby, anything to protect her, which I really loved and it just made me so happy.

12: MOST BEAUTIFUL BOOK YOU’VE BOUGHT/RECEIVED SO FAR THIS YEAR

For me, this is without a doubt Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

21414439

85% of the reason I bought this book was the cover. I love the feel of it, the way it was designed, and it just radiates badassery. It is gorgeous and I immediately fell in love with it. And as a bonus, not only is this book beautiful on the outside, it is on the inside too!

13: BOOKS YOU NEED TO READ BY THE END OF THE YEAR

These are all books that I need to read by the end of the year. A couple of them come out in a few months (Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo and Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas). I need to read Queen of Shadows so that I can go ahead and read Empire of Storms when it comes out (because QOS is the previous book). I need to read Crooked Kingdom because I need to know how everything is going to go down with the finale for this duology. I need read The Last Olympian by Rick Riordan because I have been putting off finishing this series for forever and I finally need to just finish it. I only have one book left. And I need to read The Last Star, so I can see how everything in the finale goes down for this trilogy.

14: WHO DO YOU TAG?

I tag:

Jessica @ Pore Over the Pages

Rebecca @ Intrepid Pages

Ally, Melia and Laurena @ The Immortal Readers

Eleanor @ Real Tasty Pages

Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf

If you want to do this tag, consider yourself tagged! And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

