Book Review: “Carrie” by Stephen King | Spoiler-Free

Hello! So I audiobooked Carrie by Stephen King, it being my first audiobook ever. It was pretty decent, though not the best. But what do I know? It was my first audiobook. But let’s go ahead and get into the review.

Synopsis:

“Carrie knew she should not use the terrifying power she possessed… But one night at her senior prom, Carrie was scorned and humiliated just one time too many, and in a fit of uncontrollable fury she turned her clandestine game into a weapon of horror and destruction…”

My Thoughts:

While I did enjoy reading this, nothing about this book wowed me. I really expected everything to happen and nothing about the characters really appealed to me or stood out to me in any way. The only really interesting character was Carrie’s mom who was a religious zealot, which is putting it mildly. That woman was a lunatic. The story line and writing were pretty basic, and I just really wish I would have liked this more than I did. But I am still holding out hope that Stephen King’s other books are much better. I was warned this wasn’t one of his better ones. But I am definitely going to be picking up other books by him in the future!

6
3.5/5 hearts

And that is going to be it for this review today. What is one of your favorite aspects about horror? Mine is the creeped out feeling, that feeling that anything could come out and scare the ever living crap out of you. I also hate that feeling. Its a love/hate relationship. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

