Book Review: “Sacrificed to the Dragon” by Jessie Donovan | Spoiler-Free

Hello! This Spoiler-Free review is for a book that is so much better than the cheesy title lets on. Its about dragon shape-shifters, which is something that I found really intriguing and caused me to pick this one up. I read it in a couple of hours, given that it is only like 258 pages. And it was so good. It is definitely an adult book because there are explicit sex scenes that occur throughout this book, so if you are young, you shouldn’t read this. Don’t read this if you are under the age of 18. Let’s go ahead and get into the review.

Synopsis:

“In exchange for a vial of dragon’s blood to save her brother’s life, Melanie Hall offers herself up as a sacrifice to one of the British dragon-shifter clans. Being a sacrifice means signing a contract to live with the dragon-shifters for six months to try to conceive a child. Her assigned dragonman, however, is anything but easy. He’s tall, broody, and alpha to the core. There’s only one problem—he hates humans.

Due to human dragon hunters killing his mother, Tristan MacLeod despises humans. Unfortunately, his clan is in desperate need of offspring to repopulate their numbers and it’s his turn to service a human female. Despite his plans to have sex with her and walk away, his inner dragon has other ideas. The curvy human female tempts his inner beast like no other.”

My Thoughts:

I really enjoyed this book. The sex scenes were a huge part of this book, as dragons are sexual creatures, but it didn’t really bother me because most of this book was mostly story rather than explicit scenes. It was sexy, action-packed and an all around fabulous book. It really shined a light on PTSD and I really liked how Melanie first became a sacrifice to save her brother. This book had a huge central focus on family and I really loved that. I loved all of the characters and I really found the dragon aspect interesting because you don’t typically see dragon shifters in literature and that really intrigued me. One of my favorite parts was when Tristan would argue with his dragon inside his head. For some reason, that just humored me and made me laugh out loud, literally. I overall really enjoyed this book and am excited to read more by Jessie Donovan.

8
4.5/5 hearts

And that is going to be it for this review today. You all should let me know down in the comments if you prefer dragons to wolves in the sense of shifting. I think that dragons are cooler and more original, so I definitely prefer dragons. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

 sig

One thought on “Book Review: “Sacrificed to the Dragon” by Jessie Donovan | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

