July Wrap Up + Summer Star Readathon Wrap Up!

Hello! Another month has gone by and next month I am going to be going off to college. Its crazy. But I had a pretty decent reading month, reading about five books this month. But let’s get into what I read this month!

The first book that I read was A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas.

9781619634473

This is the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series and it was freaking epic and amazing and everything that I wanted in this sequel. It made me love characters I used to hate and hate characters I used to love. And I am now a Feyrhys shipper. I gave this 5/5 hearts and my review will be up soon.

The next book that I read was Welcome to Shadowhunter Academy by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan.

22428828

This is the first book in the spin-off e-series to The Mortal Instruments. This was a decent start to the series. Not a lot happened, but it was nice to see the impact that something at the end of TMI had on Simon. I gave this 4/5 hearts and my review will be up soon. This is a book I read during the Summer Star Readathon.

The next book that I read is Carrie by Stephen King.

10592

This is Stephen King’s first novel and it is in the genre of horror. I audiobooked this and enjoyed it. It wasn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it was decent. I pretty much knew where the story was going the whole time. I gave this 3.5/5 hearts and my review will be posted soon. I also read this during the Summer Star Readathon.

The next book I read was And I Darken by Kiersten White.

27190613

This is an alternate history novel, the first one I have ever read and it was bloody fantastic! It is a gender bent Vlad the Impaler story, who was the real life inspiration for Dracula, and it was violent and bloody and brutal and freaking epic. It is definitely on my top 10 list of favorite books I have read this year. I gave this 5/5 hearts and my review will be posted soon. This is another book that I read during the Summer Star Readathon.

The last book that I read in the month of July was Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson.

11071466

This is a contemporary novel and it was so good. In this novel, we follow Taylor, a girl who left everything behind in Lake Phoenix five years ago, but is being forced to confront it as her father is diagnosed with stage four prostate cancer and given three months to live. So her and her family head up to their lake house to spend one last summer as a family. This book was so good, so heartbreaking, but also very happy at times. I definitely recommend that you all read this. I gave this 5/5 hearts and my review will be up soon. This is the last book that I read during the Summer Star Readathon.

Overall, I am pretty proud about what I read during the readathon. I read four books in two weeks, which is pretty decent compared to the last readathon I did. This readathon helped me regain my motivation to read, so hopefully I will read a lot more in August.

Those were all the books I read in the month of July. What’s your favorite genre? Mine is definitely fantasy. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

