New York Times By the Book Tag

Hello! Wow, its been a while since I’ve done a book tag. This one seemed interesting and fun, so  decided to go ahead and do this one. I first saw this on JessetheReader’s YouTube channel, so you should go check that out. Let’s go ahead and get into the questions!

1: WHAT BOOK IS CURRENTLY ON YOUR NIGHTSTAND?

Right now that is And I Darken by Kiersten White. I have been speeding through this book and it is getting so intense. It is actually the first alternate history novel that I have ever read!

2: WHAT WAS THE LAST TRULY GREAT BOOK THAT YOU READ?

This is definitely A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas. It was so mind-blowing and fantastic. I loved all of the characters that were introduced! It made me love characters I hated before and hate characters I loved before. I am Team Rhys and I hope that something tragically awful, like death, happens to Tamlin in the next novel. This is a book that completely lives up to the hype that is surrounding it!

3: IF YOU COULD MEET ANY WRITER, DEAD OR ALIVE, WHO WOULD IT BE AND WHAT WOULD YOU WANT TO KNOW FROM THEM?

I definitely would love to meet Cassandra Clare and I would love to know what her entire writing process is, how she outlines and develops the characters and plot. I just want to know all the writer things. What sort of things inspire her to write. Stuff like that. It is my dream to one day meet this woman.

4: WHAT BOOK MIGHT WE BE SURPRISED TO FIND ON YOUR BOOKSHELF?

The only book that seems to come to mind is Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout for the sole reason that I did not like this book at all and any book I am not crazy about and I DNF, it generally becomes unhauled. I DNF’d it at around 150 pages.

5: HOW DO YOU ORGANIZE YOUR PERSONAL LIBRARY?

I change how I organize it all the time (when I’m bored, I usually end up reorganizing my bookshelf), but right now it is organized by my favorite genres. It goes from Fantasy -> Paranormal -> Contemporary -> Dystopian -> Science Fiction -> Horror -> Historical Fiction -> Thriller -> Crime Fiction -> Non-Fiction.

6: WHAT BOOK HAVE YOU ALWAYS WANTED TO READ, BUT JUST HAVEN’T GOTTEN AROUND TO YET?

If I am being honest, it is totally Romeo & Juliet by William Shakespeare. This is a book that everyone reads their freshman year of high school, but my teacher didn’t do that. We read Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury instead, actually. I want to read this stupid love story, the love story that inspired so many other stupid love stories. I know what happens, but I just haven’t read it, which is pretty weird considering I have two or three copies of the play.

7: DISAPPOINTING, OVERRATED, JUST NOT GOOD: WHAT BOOK DO YOU FEEL LIKE YOU WERE SUPPOSED TO LIKE, BUT JUST DIDN’T?

Definitely The Maze Runner by James Dashner. This is the most overhyped YA novel ever, in my opinion. I didn’t like the characters at all, especially Thomas. He was just so freaking annoying. I especially did not like the writing style. I think the plot was interesting, at least a little bit, but the overwhelming negatives of the character development and writing style made this book fall short for me. I DNF’d it after about a hundred pages.

8: WHAT STORIES ARE YOU DRAWN TO AND WHAT STORIES DO YOU STEER CLEAR OF?

I love a good coming of age story myself. I find them to be super interesting and compelling. They just always seem to be my favorite books I read. I tend to steer clear of horror stories in general. I have a vivid  imagination, so those books tend to give me nightmares and I just generally don’t like them at all.

9: IF YOU COULD REQUIRE THE PRESIDENT TO READ ONE BOOK, WHAT WOULD IT BE?

The Holy Bible. Obama and the rest of this country really needs a little Jesus in their lives…Okay, but in all seriousness, it would definitely be Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. I mean, are you surprised? Of course I’ll make him read my favorite book of all time!

10: WHAT BOOK DO YOU PLAN TO READ NEXT?

After I finish And I Darken, I will probably end up reading Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson. It is a novel that I have been wanting to read for forever and I finally have the time (sort of) to read it!

11: WHO DO YOU TAG?

Madeline @ The SFF Bookshelf

Shannon @ Shannon’s Spunky Obession

Babbers @ Babbers Beginning

So that was the New York Times By the Book Tag. If you think this might be fun to do, you should definitely do this tag. I am curious: What are the books you most want to read next on your TBR? Comment down below. I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

