The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

Hello! I am back with another Book Tag and this one I saw on Rachel of Life of a Female Bibliophile, so I will link her post here and you should definitely check it out. I loved the questions because they seemed pretty interesting, so let’s get into it!

1: A CHARACTER APPEARANCE THAT YOU MISREAD OR IMAGINED DIFFERENTLY

When I first started reading The Vampire Diaries series by L. J. Smith, I was very confused because I had seen the show first and Elena Gilbert had brown hair and brown eyes in the show while in the book, she is described as having blonde hair and dark blue eyes. This also happened with Bonnie Bennett (who is Bonnie McCullough in the books) as she has brown hair and brown eyes as well as her race being African American in the show while in the books, she has red hair, translucent skin, and brown eyes. Those two completely threw me off.

2: A CHARACTER NAME THAT YOU’VE BEEN PRONOUNCING WRONG

For a while there, I was pronouncing Aelin from Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas like Ay-leen, instead of Ay-linn. That was mostly due to me watching Christine’s TOG Book Talks on YouTube. I am usually pretty good at pronouncing things correctly, though.

3: AN OVERUSED TROPE THAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE

This is definitely the trope of “good girl falls for bad boy”. I love a bad boy, one who is actually a good guy. I love those romances where the guy is constantly messing up and challenging, surprising the girl. I think it keeps us readers on our toes and I just will never get tired of it. I mean, have you seen Damon Salvatore?

large

4: A CLICHE CHARACTER TYPE THAT YOU LIKE SEEING ON SCREEN MORE THAN READING ABOUT

I actually don’t have an answer to this one. If I love reading about it, then I know I’ll love watching it on screen and vice versa. I do usually prefer reading about something than seeing it, personally.

5: A WORD OR PHRASE THAT YOU LEARNED BECAUSE OF ITS USE IN A BOOK

The word Hamartia (a fatal flaw) I learned from The Fault In Our Stars by John Green and I learned about Paper Towns (empty ghost towns that are put on maps by map makers so they can identify that map as theirs) from Paper Towns also by John Green. I use Hamartia quite a lot, actually…

b6f5fa25-c64b-4aa7-9f67-6ec3a0a9be07_text

6: HAVE YOU EVER (OR WANTED TO) SKIPPED A CHAPTER FROM THE POINT OF VIEW YOU AREN’T INTERESTED IN?

Nope. I’ve been tempted, but I would have this voice at the back of my mind saying, “What if there was something important in that chapter?” and it would drive me crazy until I read it, so I’ve never skipped a chapter ever. I’ve definitely just skimmed a chapter, but I’ve never actually skipped one.

7: HAVE YOU EVER CANCELLED SOCIAL PLANS TO READ A BOOK?

Nope, because I don’t actually make social plans. Either someone else cancels them or I just don’t go out. I pretty much live in my bedroom, so I never actually have to cancel social plans. I’m a hermit and we all know it…

8: WHO DO YOU TAG?

Samantha @ My Book Sense

Rayne Adams

Ally, Melia, and Laurena @ The Immortal Readers

And that is the end of the tag. I encourage you all to do this tag. You should comment down below your responses to these questions or link me in your post.  Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

 

One thought on “The “I Messed Up” Book Tag

  1. Great answers! I have to agree with you on The Vampire Diaries. The characters from the book are so different from the show, although I like the casting of the adaptation rather than the books. I also feel the same about “good girl falls for bad boy” tropes. It’s my guilty pleasure, lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

