Book Review: “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes | Spoiler-Free

Hey, guys! So today we will be discussing Me Before You by Jojo Moyes, a book that you have to know about unless you’ve been living under a rock. I see it at least three times every time I scroll through my Instagram feed, I see it in stores everywhere, and everyone on YouTube is buzzing about it, especially since the movie was released in theaters, which I will hopefully see soon. But let’s get into the review!

Plot:

This is a contemporary novel that follows Louisa Clark and Will Traynor, two people whose worlds collided in pretty different circumstances. Will is wheelchair-bound because he was hit by a car two years prior. This is essentially a death sentence for him because before, he was one off those outdoorsy, ballsy types of guys who sky dives, goes bungee jumping, and all that death-defying stuff.

Louisa is just the opposite. She is an ordinary girl who has a steady boyfriend and a close-knit family when she is laid off of work. So she seeks out essentially any job she can apply to with her extraordinarily moral conscience and ends up being the caretaker of Will. After several cold exchanges, she stops letting him walk all over her and when she finds out why she was really hired, she sets out to help Will live his life as fully as possible. And through their unique friendship, she ends up falling in love with him.

My Thoughts:

I had a lot of problems with this book. I didn’t cry. I did not feel very connected at all to the characters of this story. I did love Louisa and her unique sense of style (I kind of want to go and buy some bumblebee tights…) as well as how quirky she was, but I didn’t connect with her in any way. I normally really love snarky, sarcastic characters, but Will was one of my least favorite aspects of the story. I thought he was rude, and his character sent a really bad message concerning disability, and it was very problematic. I did really expect that ending. I was not even that sad. I pretty much guessed that would happen. This story was predictable, problematic, and I just did not like this. I had problems with the writing as well, and I just didn’t enjoy this story at all. I do not understand why so many people love this book, and I do not and will not recommend this to anyone. This just was not a good book at all.
2-and-a-half-stars

And there you have it! That was my review of Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. If you’ve seen the movie, which one do you like more? The book or the movie? Comment below! I would love to know. And that is going to be it for this review today. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I’ll see you next time.

sig

2 thoughts on “Book Review: “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes | Spoiler-Free

Leave a Reply

