Movie Review: “Alice Through the Looking Glass” | Spoiler-Free

Hello! So this was one of my most anticipated movies of this year and I really enjoyed this. I went and saw this with my best friend Megan and honestly, I probably loved it so much because it was freaking hilarious. I was laughing almost the whole time. But let’s just jump into the review.

Plot:

The story follows Alice who is trying to get the Mad Hatter to be happy. He is deeply depressed because no one believes him in that his family is still alive. His depression is slowly killing him and he is running out of time to live, so Alice goes to steal this object that will allow her to go back in time and either save his family, if they did die or find out where they are and what they’ve been doing for the past several years that he has believed them to be dead.

The story both dives into the Hatter’s past and the past of the White Queen and the Queen of Hearts.You really see where they came from and why the Queen of Hearts is the way she is.

My Thoughts:

This movie was pretty good, though I think my expectations were a bit too high for it to fill. This movie was hilarious. I was literally laughing out loud almost constantly. That was a huge reason why I did really enjoy this. I really enjoyed all of the characters we were introduced to. I thought the aesthetics and cinematography were on point. I thought the story line was pretty straight-forward and centered around a theme of family and friendship. I did read the book, and I enjoyed the movie more, but things were definitely completely different in the book compared to the movie. Honestly, the book was good but it was the most wacky and confusing thing I’ve ever read. I did wish there was a bit more action and a more complex plot, but overall, I did enjoy this and I would give this an 85% on my scale. I do highly recommend this movie if for nothing else, then for the humor that is displayed throughout this movie.

And that is going to be it for this review today. Comment down below what you’re most excited about for this movie or, if you’ve already seen it, what your favorite part/scene is. I would love to know. Mine was definitely the part with Time and the Hatter and the mouse and rabbit at the table. All the puns. You know what I’m talking about. It was freaking hilarious. But anyway, I definitely recommend you see this movie. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

