June Book Haul

Hello! For the first time in my blogging history, I am deciding to do a monthly book haul because I got so many books this month that I have to share what I got. As many of you know, I have a really bad book buying tendency/problem. In fact, I was yelled at twice this month for buying too many books and my mom almost confiscated my debit card. I bought/received nine books this month, so let’s get into the book haul!

20160628_151726

The first book I bought is A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

This book is the second book in the A Court of Thorns and Roses series and I am still currently reading it. I’ve been slowly making my way through this book all month. I have this bad habit of picking up this book, maybe reading a couple of pages and then putting it down and not reading it for days at a time (I did this again a couple of days ago). But more on that in my monthly wrap up. The first book is a retelling of Beauty and the Beast while this one is a retelling of Persephone and Hades. These books are phenomenal and I highly recommend you check them out. I did a book review on ACOTAR, which I will link here.

The next book I received is Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll

This was one of my favorite childhood books. My grandmother found it at a garage sale and thought of me, so I finally own it in physical form (I have the e-book original version on my kindle along with its sequel Through the Looking Glass). If you don’t know what this is, you obviously have been living under a rock. Its a great book to read as a kid because it encourages embracing your awesomeness and teaches you that its okay to be different, wacky, and crazy. It really taught me to be myself and not worry about what other people will think. I don’t think I would be who I am today without this book.

The next book that I bought is Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

This is a contemporary novel that I’ve been dying to get my hands on and I saw a hardback edition when I was in Louisville at Half-Price Books for like less than five dollars, so obviously I had to have it. It follows a girl whose father is dying, so before he dies, her and her family spend one last summer with each other before he dies. This is what I think it is about, but I could be wrong. This sounds super sad, but also interesting and this is most people’s favorite Morgan Matson novel, so that has me even more intrigued. I am super excited to get into this one soon.

The next book that I received is Phoenix by Elizabeth Richards

This is the sequel to Black City, a dystopian romance novel that I read my sophomore year of high school. I’ve been interested in what happens in the rest of this series, so I will hopefully get to this some time. I saw it in The Dollar Tree, so Mom bought it for me. I honestly don’t remember all that much of Black City, so I will have to skim it to refresh my memory, but it was intriguing, if not a little cliched, but I am very interested in knowing what became of the characters.

The next book that I bought is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

This is an adult contemporary novel that’s been sweeping the nation because of the release of the movie (which I still haven’t seen). I actually read this over vacation when I took a break from reading ACOMAF and I really enjoyed it. I do think it is really over hyped. I didn’t cry or feel sad while reading it, though I do really recommend it because it is a powerful story. It involves a controversial topic, a quadriplegic man, and an ordinary girl who learns to be extraordinary. It is a great novel and I think you should read it before seeing the movie. My review will be up soonish.

The next book that I bought is Red Rising by Pierce Brown

This is the first book in a dystopian trilogy that I have heard nothing but fantastic things about. From what I can gather, Mars has been colonized and everyone is separated into colors. There is some type of rebellion, like all dystopian novels. I know its supposed to be kickass and amazing and I am so excited to read this. I will probably read this next month, which is exciting because I haven’t read a dystopian novel in so long. It will definitely be refreshing.

The next book that I bought is Just Listen by Sarah Dessen

This is the Sarah Dessen book that pretty much everyone has read and I was told I had to read this. This is a contemporary that I know nothing about other than it might deal with a mental disorder? Maybe not. I could have that wrong. But I loved The Truth About Forever by Sarah Dessen, I love her writing, her writing style, and the way she weaves a story, so I know I’ll love this and I am anticipating getting to this very soon.

The next book that I bought is The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

This is a contemporary novel that I’ve actually already read and I loved it. This was my first Kasie West novel and it was fantastic. It involves a rich guy falling for a poor girl and as cliche as that sounds, it was actually very complex and interesting. This book made me literally LOL several times. It was cute and fluffy and funny and man did I love this book. I definitely recommend this and my review will be up soonish.

The last book that I bought is Crash Into You by Katie McGarry

This is a book that I’ve wanted to get for a while and as many of you know, I have no impulse control, so I bought it at Books A Million. Its a contemporary novel that involves a rich good girl who flirts with the dark side and she meets the bad boy who apparently saves her life. That is enough for me to want to read this now. I am super pumped to get into this no matter that this is the reason my debit card was almost confiscated. I feel like this is going to be worth it.

And that is going to be it for this book haul today. What book are you most interested in or love the most? Comment down below. I would love to know. Thank you all so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

sig

Leave a Reply

