My HUGE Book Haul!

Hello! I figured it was high time that I do a book haul considering the fact that I haven’t done a book haul since my birthday haul this past January…I have been acquiring many more books, so here I am. Hauling those books. Anyway, I hope you enjoy this.

20160525_222132
Picture taken by me with my Android phone.

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

This was the first book in a while that I allowed myself to get. I had been holding myself back since I went and bought literally twenty books with my gift cards I got for my birthday. This is the first book in Cassandra Clare’s new The Dark Artifices series and as expected, it was fabulous. I gave it 5/5 hearts and if you want to know more about the thriller plot we get in this book, I will link my spoiler-free review right here.

The Truth About the Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker

This is an adult novel that my best friend Lauren really enjoyed, but it was very expensive at Books A Million, so I didn’t buy it. And I am glad that I didn’t because it was at the Dollar Tree, so I bought it. Regularly priced, it is about eighteen dollars. You could say I was pretty happy. I haven’t read this yet and I pretty much know nothing about it, but it is  mystery/thriller, I believe. Either way, I am excited to eventually get into this one. It isn’t high on my TBR, but we’ll see.

Renegade by J. A. Souders

This is another book I sort of just randomly bought while in the Dollar Tree. I bought it solely on the cover. For some reason, it reminded me of my friend Megan’s novel she was working on at the time and I bought it on sight. I think the book sounded a bit like her novel too. I know nothing of this book, but hopefully I will get to this soon.

After Obsession by Carrie Jones and Steven E. Wedel

I bought this (again) at the Dollar Tree mostly because of the cover. I do know this sounded kind of dark, which picqued my interest, so I bought it. And I will probably be reading this this summer because it is really short, coming at about 308 pages. I just read the jacket of this book and now I am really wanting to read this, so I will probably read it next month.

Whirlwind by Rick Mofina

I was sent this by The Reader Service, so thank you for sending me this. I get the feeling that it is some sort of Mystery/Suspense novel. I know nothing about this book. At all. But I will maybe get to this book soon. Possibly.

Best of My Love by Susan Mallery

This was another book sent by The Reader Service and I am very excited to read this soon. It looks very cute. I am thinking it is an adult contemporary, though I may be wrong. I know it is a romance novel at least and the cover is enough to make me want to read it. Super excited to get to this one this summer!

The Spring of Moss Hill by Carla Neggers

This was the third book sent to me by The Reader Service and I am semi-excited for this. I don’t actually know anything about this, but it looks like it is a romance novel. Hopefully I will get to this soon. If you’ve read this, you should comment and tell me what you thought of it.

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I love this book. It is one of the only classics that I really like and I don’t understand people who don’t like this book. I got this because my library at school was giving away books and this was one of them and I was like, “How could I possibly pass this up?”, especially since I hadn’t gotten around to buying it yet. So I grabbed it. I would give this 4.5/5 hearts. While it was a bit slow, I did really enjoy it and it is probably one of my all time favorite books.

The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd

This is another book that I got from my library when they were giving books away and I am so happy I got this. I was told by my friend Kristen to read this because she loved it. Which is saying something because she never reads. I had been meaning to read this anyway, so I will hopefully get to this soon.

Matched by Ally Condie

This isn’t pictured, but this is another book I got from my library. This is a book that I love. Now I do not like the rest of the trilogy, but I did really enjoy this first book. It was such a different sort of Dystopian and I really enjoyed it. I gave it 4.5/5 hearts.

The Vampire Stalker by Allison van Diepen

This is a book that my brother gave me. His English teacher was giving away books and he thought of me because he knows I love anything to do with vampires. I am not entirely certain, but it seems to be about a vampire hunter of some sort. I’ve never heard of this, but it seems kind of dark, so it intrigues me. I will hopefully get to this some time.

Cleopatra’s Moon by Vicky Alvear Shecter

OH. MY. GOSH. This cover is GORGEOUS. Aside from that, this is another book my brother got me because he knows I am in love with Egyptian mythology and I want to read this, but it isn’t high on my TBR. This is historical fiction as far as I can tell about Cleopatra Selena, the daughter of Queen Cleopatra. It sounds pretty interesting and I am sucker for historical fiction, so I am excited to get into this.

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

I love this book. I read it like the weekend that I got it and flew through it. It was my first Morgan Matson novel and it makes me want to read more by her. This is a contemporary novel that centers around Emily Hughes, a teen girl whose best friend, Sloan, has disappeared and left her a list of thirteen things to do over the summer. It is a really fun, but also emotional, novel and it does center mostly around the friendship between Sloan and Emily, which I appreciated. I gave this a 5/5 hearts and if you want to know more about it, I will link my spoiler-free review here.

The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan

This is the first book in the Trials of Apollo series and I am so freaking excited to read this. It was an auto buy for me, because Rick is one of my many auto buy authors, but the synopsis just made me even more excited. From what I know, Apollo made Zeus mad (I don’t know what from; I haven’t finished Percy Jackson, but I don’t plan on reading The Heroes of Olympus), so to punish him, Zeus made him into a teenage boy, a half-blood really, and he has to go to Camp Half-Blood. That’s all I need to know. I’m sold.

Midnight Club by James Patterson, The Postcard Killers by James Patterson and Liza Marklund, and Invisible by James Patterson and David Ellis

These three were gifts and I know absolutely nothing about them,so I will just name them. I can tell you that they will all be a crime/suspense sort of novel. I have liked the few other adult books that I have read by him, so I will get to these. You know, eventually. For someone who hasn’t read much by him, I own almost a whole shelf’s worth of his books.

And finally, The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith.

Or better known as, J. K. Rowling, the author of Harry Potter. This is another one I don’t really know much about. I have heard great reviews about it and know that it is a crime/suspense novel. It is J. K. Rowling, so I know it will be fabulous. I am very excited to at some point read this!

Glad I finally got all of you caught up. Like I said, I had acquired many books and kept putting off this book haul. Hopefully I will read these this summer, but you never know. I mean, right now I have no motivation whatsoever to read, so there’s that.  What book are you planning to read or loved the most? Tell me in the comments below. And that is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

 

Leave a Reply

