Book Review: Fangirl | Spoiler-Free + My Reading Slump

Hello! So, as many of you know, this is one of my favorite books of all time. It was the first contemporary that I had ever read and opened my eyes to that genre. For a while now I’ve been saying that I need to reread this. I am going to college in a couple of months and I have been dealing with this reading slump, which I will get into later, and I knew that this would mostly pull me out of the slump, so I reread this.  And I loved it just as much the second time around, if not more. Especially since I definitely can relate to Cath given that I am going off to college. I am not doing a full book review because that’s kind of pointless since I am rereading this. But let’s go ahead and briefly discuss my thoughts on the reread.

Synopsis:

“Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?”

My Thoughts:

This book was fabulous as it was back in 2015. This definitely reminded me of the magic of storytelling and writing fan fiction in general. Cath remains the most relatable character to me personally I have ever come across. She is introverted, as I am, loves to write (though I prefer original stuff to fan fiction), and is in love with reading (I’m more of a reader than a writer). This story deals with mental illness in a realistic way, abandonment, and the realistic every day temptation and stress of being at college every student faces. This was beautifully written with relatable characters and an amazing and realistic plot line. This remains my favorite book of all time and this is a story that will continue to influence me for years to come!

9
5/5 hearts

The Reading Slump:

For normal book freaks, the end of the school year and the beginning of summer would indicate the devouring of books. For me, this always pushes me into a reading slump. I have this motivation problem where I am so distracted by TV and the internet that I can’t read. Thus, I will be in a reading slump for two months. I’ve been trying to motivate myself to read and it isn’t working very well. If I had like 10+ contemporaries to read, then I totally could get through this reading slump. All I am in the mood for are cute, fluffy contemporaries, but I don’t have the money to go and buy like ten books. What I honestly need is a readathon. That would probably really give me the motivation to read because I am a very competitive person, particularly in reading, and I could get back in the reading mood. When I did Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon a couple of months back, it really got me in the mood to read even when I was done with the readathon. So if you guys have some tips and tricks and maybe some summer readathons, it would be greatly appreciated if you commented down below what they are.

That is going to be it for this post today. Thank you so much for reading this, I hope you enjoyed it, and I will see you next time.

Love You All to Luna and Back,

Allie

One thought on “Book Review: Fangirl | Spoiler-Free + My Reading Slump

Leave a Reply

